34.2 C
New Delhi
Tuesday 7 July 2020

ODI World Cup 2019: India will open campaign against South Africa

India will play their first match of the 2019 World Cup against South Africa on 5 June in Southampton

New Delhi: The International Cricket Council’s schedule of the 2019 World Cup has been declared which will be held between 30 May to 14 July in England and Wales next year. It was decided during the ICC Chief Executives meeting in Kolkata where the tournament fixtures were tabled.

India will play their first match of the 2019 World Cup against South Africa on 5 June in Southampton. South Africa will also feature in the tournament opener at The Oval on 30 May against hosts England. The final of the quadrennial event has been scheduled to be played at Lord’s on 14 July. The itinerary drawn out by the CEC will need to be ratified by the ICC board, which meets on 26 April.

Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka were handed a direct entry in the tournament thanks to their ICC ODI rankings on the cut-off date of 30 September 2017.

India, who won the World Cup in 2011 and reached the semi-finals in 2015, will be the hot-favourites for the title. The 12th season of the IPL is earmarked to be played between March 29 and May 19 next year.

The 10-team tournament will have 48 matches in total, with each team playing all other nine teams during a single group round-robin phase similar to the one used at the 1992 World Cup. Then 4 top teams at the end of the league stage will face off in the two semifinals, allocated to Old Trafford and Edgbaston respectively. All three knockout games, including the Final, will have a reserve day.

 India, who have never lost to Pakistan in World Cup, will square off against the arch-rivals on June 16 in Manchester. The men in blue complete their round-robin stage with matches against hosts- England on 30 June, Bangladesh on 2 July and Sri Lanka on 6 July in Leeds. This is the first edition of the World Cup to be played without any Associate nations after the ICC decided to clamp down the tournament to 10 teams. The knockout stage will see two semi-finals, with the winners of each progressing to the final at Lord’s. On 25 April, it was reported that Old Trafford and Edgbaston would host the two semi-finals, with all of the knockout games having a reserve day.

India’s schedule:

India vs South Africa: 5 June

India vs Australia: 9 June

India vs New Zealand: 13 June

India vs Pakistan: 16 June

India vs Afghanistan: 2 June

India vs West Indies: 27 June

India vs England: 30 June

India vs Bangladesh: 2 July

India vs Sri Lanka: 6 July

Follow Sirf News on social media:

Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: