Friday 27 January 2023
- Advertisement -
SportsWilliamson announced Sunrisers captain

Williamson announced Sunrisers captain

The temperamental opener has been banned for a year and ruled out of any leadership role in future due to the incident

New Delhi:  skipper Kane Williamson has replaced embattled as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, a day after the Australian was barred from the IPL for his role in the ball-tampering controversy in South Africa.

“I’ve accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead,” Williamson said in a tweet posted by the franchise’s official twitter handle.

“We are happy to announce Kane Williamson as the captain of SunRisers for IPL 2018.” added team’s CEO K Shanmugam.

Warner, declared the chief plotter of the infamous incident, apologised for his role in the scandal. He was the captain of SRH last season.

The temperamental opener has been banned for a year and ruled out of any leadership role in future due to the incident.

Shikhar Dhawan was another big name expected to replace Warner as Sunrisers captain.

Kane Stuart Williamson, born 8 August 1990 is a international cricketer and currently the captain of New Zealand. He is a right-handed batsman and an occasional off-spinner. Williamson has played for Northern Districts in domestic in as well as for both Gloucestershire and Yorkshire in the English county cricket.

Williamson made his first-class debut in December 2007. He made his U-19 debut against the touring Indian U-19 team the same year and was named the captain of the New Zealand U-19 team for the 2008 U-19 World Cup. He made his international debut in 2010. Williamson has represented New Zealand at the 2011 and 2015 editions of the Cricket World Cup and 2012, 2014 and 2016 editions of the ICC World Twenty20. He made his full-time captaincy debut for New Zealand in the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 in India.

At various times Ian Chappell and Martin Crowe have ranked Williamson among the top four or five batsmen, along with Joe Root, Steve Smith, Virat Kohli and

Click/tap on a tag for more on the subject


Of late

More like this