Monday, 16 September 2019, +05:30
Space for Advertisement
India Elections Why Fadnavis is BJP's hero in Maharashtra today

Why Fadnavis is BJP’s hero in Maharashtra today

The BJP's poll strategy, executed by the chief minister, ensured that the party retained its 2014 tally of 23 seats despite some anti-incumbency and drought


Mumbai: Maharashtra Chief Minister seems to have played his part well as a chieftain in ensuring his party’s victory in the Lok Sabha .

Fadnavis is being credited for holding the BJP fort at a time when Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi () led by and Prakash Ambedkar has added a third dimension to the high-stakes contest between the NDA and the Congress- combine in .

The BJP’s poll strategy ensured that the saffron party retain its 2014 tally of 23 seats despite latent anti-incumbency and drought.

The results will further strengthen Fadnavis’s hand as the State faces the crucial Assembly elections in September-October this year.

In 2019 general elections, the NDA won 41 of total 48 seats, which is a replay of its 2014 performance.

While the BJP won 23 seats with a vote share of 27.59%, the Sena bagged 18 seats with a vote share of 23.29%.

The NDA has won 41 out of a total of 48 seats in the State.

Fadnavis, 48, who became chief minister in October 2014, is set to complete a full term in office, which is rare in Maharashtra’s political history.

“Fadnavis had addressed 97 rallies in the State during the Lok Sabha campaign. The morale of BJP workers is high and we expect to replicate our performance in the assembly polls under Fadnavis’s leadership,” said Maharashtra BJP spokesperson Madhav Bhandari.

Fadnavis faced hostile , which often took swipes at the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in the last five years, but he handled the situation deftly till the Sena came on board.

According to BJP sources, Fadnavis smartly handed Palghar constituency, which was won by the BJP in a 2018 by-poll, to the Sena which fielded BJP MP Rajendra Gavit on its ticket. Gavit went on to win the again.

To take on NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Fadnavis exploited dissensions within his party to induct Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil into the BJP, they said.

Mohite Patil’s father Vijaysinh Mohite Patil, who was the MP from Madha in the 16th Lok Sabha, was reportedly piqued over reports that Pawar might contest from Madha. However, Pawar never contested.

The BJP then inducted Satara district Congress president Ranjit Nimbalkar into the party and fielded him from Madha. Nimbalkar snatched the seat from the NCP.

Fadanvis also delivered a blow to the Congress by inducting Sujay, son of former Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, and fielded him from Ahmednagar.

Pawar had refused to cede the seat to the Congress for Vikhe Patil’s sake while recalling his old rivalry with Sujay’s grandfather, late Balasaheb Vikhe Patil.

At a poll rally in Ahmednagar, Fadnavis described the move to field Sujay on BJP ticket as a “surgical strike” on the Congress.

Sujay defeated his nearest NCP rival Sangram Jagtap by a margin of 2,77,597 votes.

The Congress could win only one seat while the NCP retained its tally of four seats.

Leave a Reply

Latest news

Khattar makes NRC election pitch before Haryana poll

While members of even the ruling coalition in Assam are unhappy with the way NRC has panned out in their state, some BJP leaders are going around the country promising a similar exercise nationwide

Gangwar retracts: North Indians unemployable, he’d said

When recruiters arrive, they say the quality of candidates they are looking for is not in adequate supply in these areas, Union Minister of State (independent charge) for Labour and Santosh Gangwar had said in Bareilly on Saturday

Crude oil supply crisis in market for the first time due to attack on Saudi plant

Due to the drone attack by rebels, crude oil supply has decreased by 5.7 million barrels per day, which is 6% of the global supply

Bheto Bangali: Why And How You Identify One

A one-word translation for 'bheto' may be an exercise in futility; phrases like 'rice-influenced' or ‘rice-oriented’ do serve as literal translations while not quite bringing out the rich and diverse connotations of this one-word nomenclature used to describe the typical Bengali mentality, one that transcends diet and encompasses multiple aspects of life
- Advertisement -

Freight Equalisation Policy Crippled Bihar, Bengal, Odisha

The equalisation policy ensured that Maharashtra and Gujarat enjoyed hegemony in metal as well as cotton while Bihar, Bengal and got an upper hand in none

Salman Khan gifted her no house, says Ranu Mondal

If Salman Khan had given me a house, he would have presented it to me in front of everyone: social media sensation-turned-singer Ranu Mondal

Must read

- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: