23.4 C
New Delhi
Monday 17 February 2020

Voters defy Maoist threat to life in Chhattisgarh

Neither the April heat nor the maoist threat to life has been able to dampen the spirit of voters in Naxal-infested Chhattisgarh

Raipur: In Chhattisgarh, while the second phase of Lok Sabha elections is on, the security arrangement in Kanker, Rajnandgaon and Mahasamund Lok Sabha constituencies is going to be tightened. By 1 o’clock in the afternoon, more than 47% of the voters in the area had exercised their franchise.

Officials of the state’s chief electoral office said here that 49,07,489 voters in the constituencies mentioned above will decide the fate of 36 candidates. These include 15,54,995 voters in the Kanker Lok Sabha constituency, 17,15,492 in Rajnandgaon and 16,37,002 voters in Mahasamund of Chhattisgarh.

Officials said that till 2 o’clock in the afternoon, more than 47% of the voters had exercised their franchise.

Voters enthusiastic

Serpentine voter queues were noticed outside several polling stations in the morning. There were more women and first-time voters in all queues.

There is enthusiasm in voters despite the summer heat. By afternoon, Chhattisgarh’s Minister for Women and Child Development Anila Waldia, BJP candidate from Rajnandgaon Santosh Pandey, BJP State president Vikram Usendi and former Chief Minister Raman Singh, among other senior leaders, had exercised their franchise.

Officials said that polling was affected after the EVM units malfunctioned in some polling stations. After the repair work, the voting process was restored.

Where voters gain confidence from

Senior police officials of the state said that in view of voting in Lok Sabha areas, about 60,000 soldiers of different security forces have been deployed.

For monitoring of the area, the authority has deployed drones too.


Polling in the three Lok Sabha constituencies of Chhattisgarh that are voting today is being monitored from the State control room.

An official said that 6,484 polling stations have been set up in these constituencies. As many as 2,022 polling stations in Kanker, 2,322 in Rajnandgaon and 2,140 in Mahasamund have been set up.

Nine Lok Sabha candidates from Kanker, 13 from Mahasamund and 14 from Rajnandgaon are in the fray.

Assembly areas under the three Lok Sabha constituencies are Pandaria, Kavardha, Khairgarh, Dongargarh, Rajnandgaon, Dongargaon and Khuji of Rajnandgaon; Sarai Pali, Basana, Khallari, Mahasamund, Rajim, Gurud, Dhamtari and Kanker of Kanker and Seehava, Sanjari-Balod, Dondilohra and Gundrehihi of Mahasamund.

The period during which the voters in these areas can cast their votes is 7 AM — 5 PM.

Voting will be held from 7 in the morning to 3 o’clock in Mohala-Manpur, Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha constituency, and Antagarh, Bhanupratappur, Keshkal and Kanker Assembly constituencies of Kanker Lok Sabha constituency.

Six voting centres under the Bindranvagad Assembly of Mahasamund Lok Sabha constituency will be cast from 7 AM to 3 PM too. These include Kamarbhoudi, Amamora, Oder, Badgeobra, Sahabinakhar and Kodomali polling booths. The remaining voting centres of the Bindranwad Assembly are being held from 7 in the morning to 5 in the morning.

In all three Lok Sabha constituencies, 36 candidates are in the fray. But the main fight is between the BJP and the Congress.

In Rajnandgaon region, BJP’s Santosh Pandey and Congress’s Bholaram Sahu, BJP’s Mohan Mandavi in ​​Kanker and Biresh Thakur of Congress and Mahasamund Lok Sabha seats are contesting between BJP’s Chunnilal Sahu and Congress’s Dhandendra Sahu.

The Election Commission distributed election to the 11 Lok Sabha seats of Chhattisgarh in three phases. In the first phase, voting for the Bastar Lok Sabha seat was concluded on 11 April. In the second phase, on 18 April, voting is going on for Kanker, Rajnandgaon and Mahasamund Lok Sabha seats.

In the third phase, voting will be held for Raipur, Bilaspur, Raigad, Korba, Janjgir Champa, Durg and Sarguja Lok Sabha seats on 23 April.

For all reports related to the Lok Sabha election 2019, please visit this page.

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Protesters Need Economic Education, Mr Bhagwat

There is no escape from misery unless teams of economic educators convince all sections of society socialism is the cause of their distress

BJP Could Not Have Won With This Approach To Delhi

From not paying attention to the corruption-ridden MCD to aloof leaders whose houses witnessed no activity during campaigns, BJP went all wrong in the Delhi assembly election

AAP Win In Delhi Was Foregone Conclusion: 5 Reasons

The five factors that contributed to the AAP victory have been arranged in the decreasing order of relevance; the first three will remain constant for a few more Delhi elections

Shikara Makes A Mockery Of Kashmiri Pandits’ Pain

There is too much that is not right about Shikara for it to pass muster with Pandits who have waited for decades for the truth to be told

Rahul Gandhi’s Intemperance Costs INC Dear Again

After forfeiting the Delhi poll with his 'danda mārenge' comment, the politician who has pledged never to grow up must put both his feet permanently in the mouth to gag himself

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: