Tuesday 19 January 2021
- Advertisement -

Vijay Kumar Sinha, BJP’s first speaker in Bihar assembly

Vijay Kumar Sinha of the BJP from NDA had defeated RJD's sitting MLA Awadh Bihari Singh from Lakhisarai, where he won for the fourth time

- Advertisement -
Politics India Vijay Kumar Sinha, BJP's first speaker in Bihar assembly

There was a huge uproar in Bihar today amid the election for the post of speaker. Finally, Vijay Kumar Sinha of the BJP, an NDA candidate, was elected as the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Bihar.

This is the first time that the Bihar legislature is seeing a speaker from the BJP. Sinha is the first BJP MLA to be elected unopposed as the Speaker of the Vidhan Sabha of Bihar. Sinha had defeated RJD’s sitting MLA Awadh Bihari Singh from Lakhisarai where he won for the fourth time.

Sinha was elected MLA for the first time in March 2005. Then he lost the October 2005 election by 80 votes. He won again in 2010. After 2015, he won the election from Lakhisarai in 2020.

On 29 July 2017, Vijay K Sinha was made the minister of labour resources in the NDA government of Bihar. He was then the people’s representative from Begusarai.

Vijay Sinha had joined the BJP in Barh Nagar in 1980. He became the president of the Lok Nayak Mandal under Patna Mahanagar BJP in 1992. In 2002, he became the state secretary of BJP Yuva Morcha, the state working committee member in 2004 and the state BJP spokesperson in the years 2013 and 2015, held several important organisational posts.

Tejashwi sees ‘murder of democracy’ in Vijay Sinha

Tejashwi Yadav has been fuming over the election of the speaker. He advised Vijay K Sinha to take everybody along. “Bihar is the mother of democracy. Today democracy is being murdered. You are the protector of all people. You have to walk with everyone and everyone has to be protected,” Lalu Yadav’s son said.

“We cannot support lies and untruths, we cannot sit silent. All of us have accepted the mandate. We are people living in dignity. Those in power should feel so much that the rules and regulations should not be mocked,” Tejashwi Yadav said.

Fifth term as MLA for a veteran from Lalu-Rabri government

In the legislative assembly election, opposition alliance candidate Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has reached the House for the fifth time from Siwan. He defeated former MP and BJP candidate Om Prakash Yadav. He had first won from the Janata Party headed by Chandrasekhar in 1985.

In the years 1990 and 1995, he won on a Janata Dal ticket and became a minister in the Lalu government.

In 2000, Chaudhary won as an RJD candidate. He served as a minister in the Lalu and Rabri governments from 1990 to 2005. He lost the 2005 election. He moved to JDU before the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and returned to RJD again in 2017. He was then made the chairman of the RJD’s state parliamentary board. He is still in this position.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: