It’s a victory of democracy: Naidu on Yeddyurappa’s resignation

N Chandrababu Naidu today termed the resignation of BS Yeddyurappa as Karnataka Chief Minister a "victory of democracy" and said it was a day everybody should feel proud of


In India

- Advertisement -
Amaravati: It seems that Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu has moved ahead after breaking partnership with the BJP. Naidu has termed the resignation of BS Yeddyurappa as Karnataka Chief Minister a “victory of democracy” and said it was a day everybody should feel proud of.

“This is not an ordinary victory. Entire people of the country will be happy. It is a proud day for all of us,” Naidu said at a meeting of women self-help groups leaders here this evening.

AP chief minister said normally a party with a majority would be invited to form the government. “But, going against the tradition, the (Karnataka) governor did not invite Congress-JDS coalition (that has a majority) to form the government.

They are adopting different traditions in different states… one in Goa, another in Meghalaya because they have power,” Naidu added.

Lashing out at the BJP, the Telugu Desam Party chief said: “They spoiled politics in Tamil Nadu, misused the governor’s office, finished off persons with leadership qualities.

They tried to derive political benefit in Tamil Nadu and tried the same in Karnataka.” He claimed that the BJP’s next target would have been Andhra Pradesh.

“Entire nation is happy with the current turn of events. As a chief minister and a firm believer of democracy, I am expressing my happiness,” Naidu said.

After BS Yeddyurappa BJP quit as Karnataka chief minister on Saturday, Governor Vajubhai Vala invited the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress combine to form the government in the State. HD Kumaraswamy heading the Congress-JDS coalition is set to become the chief minister for a second time on 23 May.
Kumaraswamy, the third son of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, had earlier headed the BJP-JD(S) coalition government for twenty months from January 2006.

After meeting the governor, Kumaraswamy had said the swearing-in ceremony would take place tentatively between 12 and 1.50 PM at Kanteerava stadium on 21 May.

However, Kumaraswamy later in the evening said the swearing-in would be held on 23 May as 21 May happens to be the death anniversary of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi, and therefore it would not be appropriate to hold the ceremony on that date.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


BJP Could Not Have Won With This Approach To Delhi

From not paying attention to the corruption-ridden MCD to aloof leaders whose houses witnessed no activity during campaigns, BJP went all wrong in the Delhi assembly election

AAP Win In Delhi Was Foregone Conclusion: 5 Reasons

The five factors that contributed to the AAP victory have been arranged in the decreasing order of relevance; the first three will remain constant for a few more Delhi elections

Rahul Gandhi’s Intemperance Costs INC Dear Again

After forfeiting the Delhi poll with his 'danda mārenge' comment, the politician who has pledged never to grow up must put both his feet permanently in the mouth to gag himself

Bloomberg For US President? Why Not?

Mayor Michael Bloomberg can be an attractive candidate to a lot of voters – those who are concerned about the leftward, idiosyncratic, wokey, “let us butt into every other country’s internal policy initiatives” overreach of the Democrats

‘सभी संगठनों से मुक्त’ जामिया शूटर ‘बजरंग दल’ का कैसे हो गया?

जामिया क्षेत्र में गोली चलाने से पहले 'रामभक्त गोपाल' ने अपनी प्रोफ़ाइल बदली और धड़ल्ले से दक्षिणपंथी संगठनों व एक पार्टी के नाम दर्ज कर दिए

30 साल से ज़िन्दगी तलाशते कश्मीरी हिन्दू

मस्जिदों से हिन्दुओ के सफाए के पैगाम आए; एक के बाद एक दिल दहलाने वाली खबर आई; जुमे की नमाज़ के बाद सड़को पर जो भी हिन्दू दिखा, काट दिया गया

Pandits: 30 Years Since Being Ripped Apart

Pandits say, and rightly so, that their return to Kashmir cannot be pushed without ensuring a homeland for the Islam-ravaged community for conservation of their culture

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: