UGC warns Kashmiris seeking admission to institutions in PoK

Here are two lists of institutions: those in Jammu and Kashmir that UGC recognises and those in PoK that the higher education authority in India does not


New Delhi: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has warned the students not to get admitted to non-recognised institutions of Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK).

UGC secretary Rajneesh Jain has said in his message to students from Jammu and Kashmir, “Pakistan occupied Jammu and Kashmir is an integral part of India. The educational institutions including universities, medical colleges, technical institutions situated in PoJK are neither established by the Indian government nor recognised by statutory authorities including UGC, AICTE and Medical Council of India.”

The UGC secretary said the students of Jammu and Kashmir have been so alerted and counselled that they should not seek admission in any area of ​​the illegal occupation of Pakistan including the so-called Azad Kashmir or Gilgit-Baltistan. The colleges, universities and technical institutions in these areas, his message cautioned, are not approved by India.”

Pakistan occupied Kashmir is the area of ​​India’s State of Jammu and Kashmir, which Pakistan intruded into months after the two countries got independence from British rule in 1947. Since India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru took the matter to the United Nations once the Indian Army started regaining the lost grounds, the UN ordered a cease-fire, thus resulting in two administrative blocs: Jammu and Kashmir and PoK.

Degrees, certificates UGC will not recognise

Some of the educational institutions in PoK are as follows. A degree or certificate from any of these institutions is not valid in India. The UGC does not recognise these institutions.

  1. Azad Jammu Kashmir Medical College
  2. Al-Khair University
  3. College of Education, Afzalpur
  4. Kashmir Model College, Mirpur
  5. Mohi-ud-Din Islamic Medical College
  6. Mirpur University of Science and Technology
  7. Mohi-ud-Din Islamic Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  8. Mohi-ud-Din Islamic University
  9. University of Management Sciences and Information Technology

Institutions in Jammu-Kashmir recognised across India

The students in Jammu and Kashmir can seek higher education in the following institutions situated in the State. Their degrees and certificates are recognised by the UGC and, hence, are valid across India.

University Location Type Established Specialisation
University of Kashmir Srinagar State 1949 General
University of Jammu Jammu State 1968 General
Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology of Kashmir Srinagar State 1982 Agriculture
Sher-i-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences Srinagar State 1983 Medical Sciences
Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology of Jammu Jammu State 1999 Agriculture
Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University Katra State 2004 Science, technology
Islamic University of Science and Technology Awantipora State 2005 Science, technology
Baba Ghulam Shah Badhshah University Rajauri State 2005 General
Central University of Jammu Jammu Central 2009 General
Central University of Kashmir Srinagar Central 2009 General
Cluster University of Jammu Jammu State 2016 General
Cluster University of Srinagar Srinagar State 2016 General