Tuesday 11 May 2021
- Advertisement -

Opposition in Bihar proves too Tejashwi for lacklustre Nitish

Except for one exit poll, all others show the likelihood of Tejashwi Yadav taking the opposition to a figure higher than that of the NDA

Rashtriya Janata Dal’s (RJD) Tejashwi Yadav-led opposition alliance in Bihar is likely to win more seats than the incumbent National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and possibly cross the majority mark according to the aggregate of exit polls released today. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar — who had declared this would be his last election while campaigning — is in the second position in these polls televised after three phases of voting completed in the state.

This is a remarkable performance by rookie Tejashwi Yadav in the absence of the charismatic — albeit corrupt — Lalu Prasad Yadav serving jail terms for his proven involvement in the fodder scam of the 1990s.

Calculating a poll of polls leads one to the conclusion that the opposition coalition will win 124 of Bihar‘s 243 seats and the NDA 103. It gives Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) six seats.

A party or coalition needs 122 to attain the majority mark in the 243-seat Bihar assembly.

Times Now-C Voter gives 116 to the NDA and a slight lead for the opposition at 120. It says Chirag Paswan’s party will win a seat.

Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat gave between 118 and 138 seats to the opposition alliance and 91-117 seats to the ruling NDA. Chirag Paswan’s party is likely to win five to eight seats, it says.

TV9 Bharatvarsh gives the Tejashwi Yadav-led alliance 120 seats and 115 seats to the NDA. The LJP could win four, it says.

CNN News 18-Today’s Chanakya predicts a landslide for Tejashwi Yadav’s alliance at 180. The NDA, it says, will be restricted to 55 and the LJP, zero.

According to News X-dvresearch, the NDA is getting from 110 to 117 seats and the opposition from 108 to 123. The LJP is seen to win four to 10 seats.

Tejashwi, in dad Lalu's absence, cuts ground beneath Nitish's feet [internal image]

Dainik Bhaskar is the outlier, giving the NDA 120 to 127 and the opposition 71 to 81. The LJP is given 12 to 23 seats.

An India Today-Axis poll on the preferred chief minister says 44% picked Tejashwi Yadav and Nitish Kumar is second to his former deputy with 35%.

Publishing partner: Uprising

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of news stories. Please help us pay them by donating. Click on the button below to contribute.

Sirf News is now on Telegram as well. Click on the button below to join our channel (@sirfnewsdotcom) and stay updated with our unique approach to news

Disclaimer: If the footer of a report says the story is syndicated, it implies that it is a report picked automatically by the RSS feed of the media house mentioned. Such content is not edited by the Sirf News’ team of editors. We have begun this section to benefit our readers with more stories from India and across the world at a one-stop destination. The copyright of such a story belongs to the media house named. Sirf News' system picked it from the mentioned media house's RSS feed available in the public domain.

Related Articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: