Sunday 23 January 2022
- Advertisement -

Shatrughan Sinha to lose Patna Sahib to Ravi Shankar Prasad

Shatrughan Sinha, who had won the Patna Sahib seat on a BJP ticket in 2014, has for long turned a critic of the party

Patna/New Delhi: Lawyer and Union Minister for Law and Justice, Electronics and Information Ravi Shankar Prasad is being considered as a candidate for seat, which is represented by actor-turned-politician and BJP rebel Shatrughan Sinha.

For the Lok Sabha election, a marathon meeting of the central committee of the BJP was held on Saturday. It started at 5.30 PM at the BJP headquarters and lasted until 2 AM. In this meeting, the names of candidates for the Lok Sabha seats of Bihar, Uttarakhand, Maharashtra and 10 major States were discussed.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president Amit Shah, Home Minister and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj were present in the meeting of the BJP central committee.

For the seat, RK Sinha is being considered, too, but Prasad, a source said, is ahead in the race because of the Rajya Sabha MP’s name figuring in the media in connection with the Panama Papers.

Shatrughan Sinha, who had won the seat on a BJP nomination in the last Lok Sabha election, has for long turned a trenchant critic of the party.

Deputy Chief Minister of Sushil Kumar Modi and State party president Nityanand Rai were present in the meeting too.

will vote during the seventh and final phase of the on 19 May.

Bhagalpur goes to JD(U)

Dr RS Singh from Aara, Radha Mohan Singh from East Champaran and Dr Sanjay Jaiswal from West Champaran have been declared as BJP’s candidates. These three had won the elections from these seats in 2014.

The NDA has given the Bhagalpur Lok Sabha constituency to constituent JD(U). Shahnawaz Hussain of the BJP had lost this seat in the last election.

Gadkari from Nagpur

The BJP has nominated Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Rejuvenation Nitin Gadkari for the Nagpur seat.
In Maharashtra, Mumbai Central has gone to Poonam Mahajan and Mumbai North East to Kirit Somaiya.

Get in Touch

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles


Get in Touch



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: