Wednesday 25 May 2022
- Advertisement -

Shatrughan Sinha, Babul Supriyo: Mamata Banerjee’s picks for Bengal bypolls

Shatrughan Sinha, who was with the BJP ealier, had joined the INC ahead of the 2019 national election, but it apparently did not work out

Join Sirf News on


Actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo are the Trinamool Congress picks for the Bengal bypolls, said on Sunday. While 76-year-old Sinha will fight the Lok Sabha by-election from Asansol, Supriyo, 51, will fight the assembly by-polls from Ballygunje. “Happy to announce on behalf of the All India Trinamool Congress that Sri Shatrughan Sinha, former Union Minister and famed actor, will be our in Loksabha by-election from Asansol. (½) (sic),” tweeted Banerjee.

“Sri Babul Supriyo, former union minister and noted singer, will be our in Vidhansabha by-election from Ballygunge. Jai Hind, Jai Bangla, Jai Ma-Mati-Manush!(2/2),” the Bengal chief minister said in another tweet. Supriyo had quit the BJP last year – months after the Trinamool Congress swept the state elections – and joined Mamata Banerjee’s party. Later, he had also resigned as the Asansol Lok Sabha MP. “I will not hold on to the Berth/Perks/Salary of a now that I am no longer a part of @BJP4India that I won the seat for. If I have it in me, will win it again (sic),” he had tweeted at the time.

Shatrughan Sinha, who was with the BJP ealier, had joined the Indian National Congress (INC) ahead of the 2019 national polls. However, he had lost from his stronghold in Bihar to the BJP’s Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Meanwhile, Supriyo’s switch to the Trinamool Congress last year came in a surprise turn of events. He had been a critic of the party when he was with the BJP, and Mamata Banerjee’s party won a handsome win in the Bengal state polls, the singer-politician had said in a tweet, which was later deleted, “Neither will I congratulate for her win in Bengal nor do I wish to say that I ‘respect’ the people’s verdict because I sincerely think that people of Bengal made a historic mistake by not giving Bharatiya Janata Party a chance.” He had lost the state election from the Tollygunj seat.

Ahead of the 2024 national polls, has been opposition leaders amid attempts by rivals to forge an anti-BJP front. Earlier on Sunday, she attacked the BJP over the provident fund rate cut move. “The anti-people, anti-worker step exposes the crudely lopsided public policies of the current central establishment which espouses interests of big capital at the expense of farmers, workers, and middle classes. The initiative must be thwarted by united protests (sic),” she wrote in a tweet.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: