Sunday 19 September 2021
- Advertisement -
HomePoliticsIndiaSecond largest voting round today

Second largest voting round today

Voting for the second biggest phase of the Lok Sabha elections are on, with more than 180 million voters casting their will across 117 constituencies.

Polling for 19 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra are underway in the third and final round of voting in the State. As many as 338 candidates are in the fray. Citizens are exercising their franchise at 34,343 polling booths where 262,724 poll personnel have been deployed. Over 31 million voters, including more than 14 million women, are eligible to vote. The first two phases saw 29 of the 48 Lok Sabha constituencies going to polls.

Yesterday, the Election Commission had emphasised the need to be more alert during the last 48 hours before the Lok Sabha polling in Punjab, as chances of distribution of cash and liquor to woo voters was high.

The five Rajasthan LS seats where polling is underway are: Dausa, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur and Tonk-Sawaimadhopur LS seats. Over 81 lakh voters are eligible to elect 5 MPs from 81 contestants, including two union ministers; Namonarayan Meena (MoS finance) from Dausa, Jitendra Singh (MoS-sports) from Alwar, and former cricketer Mohd Azaharruddin from Tonk-Swaimadhopur. Total 9,112 polling booths, of which 2,674 declared as critical, are being guarded by 45,000 security personnel to ensure the free and fair poll.

Enthusiastic voters queued up early as balloting in Madhya Pradesh for 10 Lok Sabha seats and one seat this morning. As many as 118 candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha seats and 11 for the bye-election in Vidisha assembly constituency. Balloting is being held at 19,444 polling booths. A total of 155,552 officials have been tasked to hold polling. Over 16 million electors, including more than eight million women, are eligible to exercise their franchise. This is the third and final round of polling in the state. The first two phases saw voting in 19 constituencies.

Voting for 7 Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh has started in the third and final round of polling in the State. As many as 153 candidates are in the fray. The State has 11 Lok Sabha constituencies. Voting is taking place at 14,474 polling booths where 72,120 poll officials have been tasked with the job of holding free and fair polls. Polling got underway in Raipur, Durg, Bilaspur, Janjgir-Champa (SC), Raigarh (ST), Surguja and Korba Lok Sabha seats at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm in the evening. As many as 200 web cameras (for web casting), 350 video cameras and 6000 digital camera are installed at polling stations to monitor the polling process. Besides, 15,921 EVMs have been set up to record the votes. Although security has been tightened across all these constituencies, extra precaution is taken in some Maoist-affected pockets of Surguja Lok Sabha seat adjoining Odisha and Jharkhand.

To serve the nation better through journalism, Sirf News needs to increase the volume of news and views, for which we must recruit many journalists, pay news agencies and make a dedicated server host this website — to mention the most visible costs. Please contribute to preserve and promote our civilisation by donating generously:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

বাবুলকে আমাদের তৃণমূল পরিবারে স্বাগত: Saugata Roy

#BabulSupriyo #TMC #ByPoll

The political turmoil in Punjab Congress and the manner in which Captain was removed as the chief minister is likely to sharpen the fault lines between the Gandhi family loyalists and the G-23 senior leaders who sought internal reforms.

Dear @MumbaiPolice , just as the citizens follow the law of the land, in Hindu Dharma the form of an idol is governed by the Scriptures. Only by following the scriptures maximum spiritual benefit can be obtained. Anything else is denigration of the Deity. 1/2

जब से जुही चावला ने 25 लाख का जुर्माना भरा है तब से 5G टावर से एक चिड़िया तक नहीं मरी... 😜
लातों के भूत बातों से नही मानते🤣

Read further:
- Advertisment -

Popular since 2014