7.2 C
New York
Saturday 4 December 2021

Buy now


HomeSportsRaina returns to India's T20 squad against South Africa

Raina returns to India’s T20 squad against South Africa


New Delhi: Batsman Suresh Raina was on Sunday rewarded for his recent domestic performance with a recall to the Indian Twenty20 squad for the three-match series against South Africa starting 18 February.

Raina has also overcome fitness issues to make the 16-man squad led by Virat Kohli. The southpaw had played his last international, a T20 against England, in February 2017 before being sidelined with fitness issues.

Passing the mandatory ‘Yo-Yo’ test also paved the way for his return.

He was also in top form in the recently-concluded Super League of Syed Mushtaq Ali, smashing an unbeaten hundred and a couple of half-centuries for Uttar Pradesh.

Familiar faces like Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan were back in the side after being rested for the last T20 series against Sri Lanka.

had captained the side in three-match series with Kohli being rested.

The crux of the ODI and T20 squad for the limited-overs leg in South Africa remains the same.

The return of senior players means the likes of Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Siraj, Washington Sundar and Basil Thampi miss out.

All four were part of the home series against Sri Lanka.

Pacer Jaydev Unadkat has been retained after bagging the man of the series award against Sri Lanka while left-arm spinner Axar Patel made a comeback in the shortest format.

Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur has also been picked after earning a spot in the ODI squad for the six-match series starting 1 February.

The three-match T20 series in South Africa begins on February 18 in Johannesburg, followed by matches in Centurion (21 February) and Cape Town (24 February).

India’s squad for T20I series: Virat Kohli (Captain) Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.



Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Support pro-India journalism by donating

via UPI to surajit.dasgupta@icici or

via PayTM to 9650444033@paytm

via Phone Pe to 9650444033@ibl

via Google Pay to dasgupta.surajit@okicici

जहाँ अंजुली में गंगा जल हो

जहाँ हर एक मन बस निश्छल हो

जहाँ गाँव गाँव में देश भक्त

जहाँ नारी में सच्चा बल हो

उस देवभूमि का आशीर्वाद लिए

मैं चलता जाता हूँ

उस देवभूमि का आशीर्वाद

मैं चलता जाता हूँ

है भाग्य मेरा

सौभाग्य मेरा

मैं तुमको शीश नवाता हूँ: PM @narendramodi

राजस्थान के मुख्यमंत्री श्री @ashokgehlot51 जी, प्रदेश कांग्रेस अध्यक्ष श्री @GovindDotasra जी ने 12 दिसम्बर को कांग्रेस की प्रस्तावित #महंगाई_हटाओ_रैली को लेकर NSUI राजस्थान के पदाधिकारियों व कार्यकर्ताओं की अहम बैठक ली व रैली को सफल बनाने के लिए NSUI की भागीदारी सुनिश्चित की।


১০ - ১২ ডিসেম্বর মুখ্যমন্ত্রী Mamata Banerjee কে আমন্ত্রণ Nepal -র

#KathmanduConvention #MamataBanerjee #ZEE24Ghanta

Read further:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -



%d bloggers like this: