Padma Vibhushan, posthumous: Swaraj, Jaitley, Fernandes…

The BJP government has once again recommended to the president names of many commoners with extraordinary records for the Padma Shri award

On the eve of Republic Day, the government has announced the Padma Awards for the year 2020. Former Union Ministers George Fernandes, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj have been posthumously awarded the Padma Vibhushan.

There are seven Padma Vibhushan awardees, including MC Mary Kom, this year. Sixteen celebrities are getting Padma Bhushan while 118 are getting the Padma Shri award.

Besides the former union ministers, Śrī Śrī 1008 Śrī Viśveśa-tīrtha Śrīpādaṅgaḷavaru has been awarded the Padma Vibhushan posthumously. Anerood Jugnauth and Chhannulal Mishra are the other recipients of this award this year.

The Narendra Modi government once again recommended to the president names of little-known people with extraordinary records of social service like

  • Jagdish Lal Ahuja, popularly known as Langar Baba
  • Mohammad Sharif who cremated 25,000 unclaimed dead bodies
  • Javed Ahmad Tak who works for children with disabilities in Kashmir
  • Tulsi Gowda, known as Encyclopaedia of forests
Trade unionist and AB Vajpayee’s Defence Minister late George Fernandes

Apart from these, Satyanarayana Mundayoor, Abdul Jabbar, Usha Choumer, Popatrao Pawar, Harekala Hajabba, Arunoday Mandal, Radha Mohan and Sabarmati, Kaushal Konwar Sarama, Triniti Sau, Ravi Kanan, A. Ramakrishnan, Sundaram Verma, Munna Master, Yogi Aaron, Poiribai, Himmata Ram Bhambhu Muchichkal Panakazhakshi are getting the Padma Shri.

This year, President Ram Nath Kovind approved the names of 141 Padma awards including four duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one) as per the list above. Thirty-four of the awardees are women. The list includes 18 persons from the category of foreigners, NRI, PIO, OCI and 12 posthumous awardees.

Meenakshi Jain, the historian awarded Padma Shri under the literature and education section, deserves a special mention as she is often found at loggerheads with Marxist historians’ view that normally prevails in the school and university curricula of history.

The entire list of recipients of this year’s Padma awards in readable and downloadable formats:


Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities, namely art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service.

Padma Bhushan is to acknowledge distinguished service of a high order.

Padma Shri is conferred upon people who have rendered distinguished service in any field.

The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year. The president awards the recipients at a ceremonial function held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually in March or April every year.

Leave a Reply

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Muslims Are Threatening Hindus With Impunity: Here’s Why

Why are Hindus considered kafirs by Muslims and heathens and pagans by Christians? Why do they sit in judgment on our culture and practices?

Trump Not Telling The Truth About India-US Trade

A protectionist US President Donald Trump raises even such issues that have been resolved; thankfully, the India does not buy his antics

Sonbhadra Gold To Benefit Indian Economy In 5 Ways

Although we are not in the era of the gold standard, the enormous deposit of the yellow metal in Sonbhadra will improve the Indian economy

Hindu They All Claim To Be; Policy Tells Who Really Is

BJP will not merely claim to be Hindu; it will bring CAA, NRC; let debutant, me-too Hindu parties beat it with UCC & population control bill

Tapas Pal, A Death No One Would Genuinely Condole

In 1980, after Bengali film superstar Uttam Kumar died, Dadar Kirti of Tarun Majumdar was released after Durga Puja. The voice...

More from the author

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: