Thursday 26 May 2022
- Advertisement -

Nobel Prize for Economics 2021 goes to 3 US-based economists

The Nobel Prize committee announced the names of the winners of the 2021 award for economic sciences on Twitter besides their website

Join Sirf News on


Three US-based economists have won the 2021 Nobel prize for economics for work on drawing conclusions from unintended experiments, or so-called natural experiments.

The winners were David Card of the University of California at Berkeley; Joshua Angrist from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Guido Imbens from Stanford University.

The Nobel Prize committee announced the names of the winners of the 2021 prize in Economic Sciences additionally on Twitter besides the website of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. It said the three have completely reshaped empirical work in the economic sciences.

“David Card has been awarded the 2021 prize in economic sciences for his empirical contributions to labour economics,” The Nobel Prize said. The other two economists Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens have been awarded the 2021 prize in economic sciences “for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships.”

The Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm. The Prize is based on a donation received by the Nobel Foundation in 1968 from Sveriges Riksbank on the occasion of the Bank’s 300th anniversary.

The Economic prize for 2020 was given to Paul R Milgrom and Robert B Wilson jointly for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats. Using auction theory, researchers try to understand the outcomes of different rules for bidding and final prices, the auction format. “The laureates started out with fundamental theory and later used their results in practical applications, which have spread globally. Their discoveries are of great benefit to society,” chair of the Prize Committee had said.

The announcement of the Economic Nobel follows the Nobel Prize, which has been given to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for and lasting peace. While Maria is of Philippines based news site Rappler, Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov is editor-in-chief of the Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: