18 C
New Delhi
Wednesday 19 February 2020

NDA leading in 38 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar

Out of the NDA constituents, the BJP and JD(U) are leading in 16 seats while LJP is ahead in six seats

Patna: Union ministers ― Ravi Shankar Prasad, Giriraj Singh, RK Singh and Ashwini Kumar Choubey ― are among NDA candidates leading on 37 seats while RJD is ahead on two constituencies and its mahagathbandhan ally Congress at one place, as per the latest trends available.

Among the central ministers, only Ram Kripal Yadav is trailing by around 6900 votes to his rival RJD candidate Misa Bharti, Lalu Prasad’s eldest daughter, in Pataliputra constituency.

The BJP and JD(U) are leading in 16 seats while LJP is ahead in six seats.

The RJD, which is heading five parties Mahagathbandhan which also included Congress, HAM, VIP and RLSP, is leading in two seats of Jehanabad and Pataliputra and its ally Congress is ahead in Kishanganj out of the 40 seats on which trends are available, according to the figures released by the office of Chief Electoral Officer, Bihar.

Prominent NDA faces who are leading currently included- union ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad (Patna Sahib), Radha Mohan Singh(Purvi Champaran), Giriraj Singh (Begusarai), R K Singh (Ara), Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Buxar), Rajiv Pratap Rudy (Saran), Chirag Paswan (Jamui), Ram Vilas Paswan’s brother Pashupati Kumar Paras (Hajipur).

Prominent opposition Mahagathbandhan faces who are trailing included- Sharad Yadav (Madhepura), actor-turned- politician Shatrughan Sinha (Patna Sahib), former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar (Sasaram), former JNUSU president and CPI nominee Kanhaiya Kumar (Begusarai), RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha (Karakat), Vikassheel Insan Party chief Mukesh Sahni (Khagaria), former Bihar CM and HAM (S) president Jitan Ram Manjhi (Gaya).

RLSP chief Upendra Kishwaha, who contested from two seats of Karakat and Ujiarpur, is trailing on both the places.

Kushwaha is trailing by over 95,000 votes in Ujiarpur to BJP’s Nityanand Rai while he is behind by 18,000 votes in Karakat to his JD(U) rival Mahabali Singh.

Jitan Ram Manjhi is trailing by over 58,000 from Gaya reserved seat to his JD(U) rival Vijay Manjhi.

Another Mahagathbandhan constituent- Vikassheel Insan party (VIP)- chief Mukesh Sahni is trailing behind by 8300 votes from his rival LJP’s Mehboob Ali Kaiser in Khagaria.

Union law minister and BJP candidate Ravi Shankar Prasad is leading by over 1,13,000 votes over his nearest Congress competitor Shatrughan Sinha in Patna Sahib constituency while Giriraj Singh has maintained a huge lead of over 2 lakh votes over his rival and CPI candidate Kanhaiya Kumar in Begusarai constituency.

Agriculture minister Radha Mohan Singh is leading over 71,000 votes from his rival RLSP candidate Akash Kumar Singh in Purvi Champaran constituency.

Senior leader Sharad Yadav, who is contesting on RJD ticket from Madhepura, is trailing by over 87000 votes from his rival and JD(U) candidate Dinesh Chandra Yadav.

Former Lok Sabha Speaker and Congress candidate Meira Kumar is trailing by over 66,000 votes in Sasaram from her rival and BJP candidate Chhedi Paswan.

RJD’s Surendra Yadav is leading by 7800 votes over his rival JD(U)’s Chandeshwar Prasad in Jehanabad while Congress’ Mohammed Javed is leading by 9700 votes over his rival JD(U)’s Mahmud Ashraf in Kishanganj.

Lalu Prasad’s elder son Tej Pratap Yadav’s father-in-law Chandrika Rai, who is an RJD candidate from Saran, is also trailing by 57,000 votes from his rival and BJP candidate Rajiv Pratap Rudy. Ram Vilas Paswan’s brothers Pashupati Kumar Paras and Ram Chandra Paswan are leading from Hajipur and Samastipur constituency respectively.

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Tapas Pal, A Death No One Would Genuinely Condole

In 1980, after Bengali film superstar Uttam Kumar died, Dadar Kirti of Tarun Majumdar was released after Durga Puja. The voice...

Must India Invest In Donald Trump?

As many of his cabinet picks know, to their eternal regret and shame, his commitment lasts only as long as you are gullible

Protesters Need Economic Education, Mr Bhagwat

There is no escape from misery unless teams of economic educators convince all sections of society socialism is the cause of their distress

BJP Could Not Have Won With This Approach To Delhi

From not paying attention to the corruption-ridden MCD to aloof leaders whose houses witnessed no activity during campaigns, BJP went all wrong in the Delhi assembly election

AAP Win In Delhi Was Foregone Conclusion: 5 Reasons

The five factors that contributed to the AAP victory have been arranged in the decreasing order of relevance; the first three will remain constant for a few more Delhi elections

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: