Sunday 11 April 2021
- Advertisement -
IndiaElectionsNandigram: Stones hurled at Suvendu Adhikari's convoy

Nandigram: Stones hurled at Suvendu Adhikari’s convoy

Voting is underway for 30 assembly constituencies in Bengal, including Nandigram where the BJP has pitted Suvendu Adhikari against CM Mamata Banerjee

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of news stories. Please help us pay them by donating. Click on the button below to contribute.

- Advertisement -

The convoy of BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari was attacked in Bengal’s Nandigram on Thursday afternoon. BJP’s candidate from Nandigram assembly constituency, Suvendu Adhikari escaped unhurt.

In this incident of the Satengabari locality of Nandigram, miscreants hurled stones at Suvendu Adhikari’s vehicle, but he managed to escape unhurt. A media vehicle following the BJP leader’s car sustained damage.

Earlier, another group of miscreants had attacked the convoy of BJP candidate Pritishranjan Konar. The convoy of Konar, who is the party’s candidate from Keshpur in West Midnapore, was attacked on 1 April.

Voting is underway for 30 assembly constituencies in Bengal, including Nandigram where the BJP has pitted Suvendu Adhikari against Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Given the volatile nature of the constituency and West Bengal’s history of political violence, the Election Commission has deployed 22 companies of central forces in constituencies where voting is underway in the second phase.

However, not all paramilitary forces are guarding the polling booths. This deployment requires the state government’s consent, failing which the CRPF jawans stay put in barracks. In the footage received from the booths today, most men in uniform seen are bodyguards of high-profile politicians.

This is not the first time such an attack took place on a BJP leader’s convoy in poll-bound Bengal.

In December, BJP national president JP Nadda’s convoy was attacked when he was on his way to Diamond Harbour to address a public meeting. The BJP chief had escaped unhurt but the party had accused Trinamool Congress workers of planning and executing the attack.

The second phase of polling in West Bengal’s eight-phase elections, including in the high-stakes Nandigram seat, recorded a high voter turnout of 37.4% till 11 AM. Though the situation was tense in a few areas with a few skirmishes reported, tight security cover in all 30 constituencies which went to polls averted any major incidents.

The constituencies where polls are being conducted include nine seats each in Purba and Paschim Medinipur districts, eight in Bankura and four in South 24 Parganas. Strict adherence to Covid-19 protocols has been ensured in all places.

More than 75 lakh voters will decide the fate of 191 candidates in the 30 constituencies for which voting ends at 6.30 PM.

- Advertisement -

Sirf News is now Koo-ing. Click on the button below to join our handle (@sirf_news) and stay updated with our posts on the platform that won the Atmanirbhar App Innovation Challenge, 2020

Sirf News is now on Telegram as well. Click on the button below to join our channel (@sirfnewsdotcom) and stay updated with our unique approach to news


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: