Manipur witnesses highest voter turnout, Bihar lowest

Manipur recorded the highest polling percentage at 78% until 5 PM; first-time Indians in West Bengal and violence in Andhra Pradesh grabbed headlines during the first phase of voting.

Manipur highest turnout
Dinhata, Cooch Behar, Bengal: Many of these voters were officially neither Indian nor Bangladeshi until Narendra Modi government's pact on enclaves with the Sheikh Hasina counterpart

New Delhi: With polling having ended in all the constituency that went up for election on 11 April, the Election Commission announced at a press conference that Manipur had recorded the highest turnout till 5 PM. The lowest voting was observed in Bihar.

Ninety-one seats spread across 20 States were up for grabs today. The fates of several Union ministers for the next five years were sealed today. They include Nitin Gadkari, VK Singh, Satya Pal Singh, Mahesh Sharma, Kiran Rijiju, etc.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands witnessed 70.6% polling while there was 56% polling in Chhattisgarh. Fifty-five per cent of the eligible voters exercised their franchise in Andhra Pradesh and 60% voted in Telangana.

The Election Commission said at the press conference there were 1.7 lakh polling booths for the 91 seats that witnessed voting in the first phase of Lok Sabha election, 2019.

Manipur, proud part of Indian democracy

Until five o’clock in the evening, Bihar had recorded the lowest turnout of 50%. The highest polling percentage was recorded in Manipur at 78%.

Crucial UP

Citizens in eight constituencies of the all-important Uttar Pradesh chose their representatives.

Ghaziabad Congress candidate Dolly Sharma alleged that Muslim candidates were prevented from casting votes. In this seat, BJP’s current MP General VK Singh is once again in the fray.

First-time legit Indian voters in Bengal

For the first time in Dinhata in Cooch Behar in Bengal, residents participated in the voting process as bona fide Indian citizens. Under the enclave agreement with Bangladesh, 9,776 people were added to the voter list in 2015 as ‘new Indians’.

Twin elections

Assembly elections were simultaneously held in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.

Naidu cribs, TDP workers turn violent

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu complained that the EC had been busy with the transfer of officers even as it could not maintain the EVM-VVPAT units. He addressed the voters, saying, “You had to face difficulties due to the heat. I felt very bad about this.”

In Andhra Pradesh, a YSR Congress Party worker had to be taken to the hospital after a violent clash with workers of the TDP at a polling station in Kadapa district.

Village in Odisha boycotts poll

In Odisha, people from Vajjidadar village of Kalahandi that was supposed to vote in the first phase boycotted the election. They said that despite repeated requests, they were still waiting for a good road to the village.

For all reports related to the Lok Sabha election 2019, please visit this page.