Sunday 9 May 2021
- Advertisement -

Mamata: ‘We will not let our state be turned into Gujarat’

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said on 8 April that she would keep urging voters to vote unitedly against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) even if the Election Commission were to serve her 10 notices.

Addressing a public rally in Domjur, Mamata Banerjee said, “How many complaints have been filed against (Prime Minister) Narendra Modi? He does Hindu-Muslim every day, how many complaints have been filed against him? How many complaints have been registered against those people who referred to Nandigram`s Muslims as Pakistanis? Aren`t they ashamed? They cannot do anything against me. I am with Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs, Christians as well as tribals.”

She said that even if 10 show-cause notices are issued against me, my answer will remain the same. I am telling everyone to vote unitedly, there will no division,” adding “Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs and Christians, do not give a single vote to them.”

Earlier on 7 April, the ECI had issued a notice to Mamata Banerjee for her remarks on 3 April, where she appealed to the Muslim voters to not let their vote be split among different political parties contesting in the ongoing assembly election.

The poll panel asked the chief minister to explain her stand within 48 h after receiving the notice, failing which it shall “take a decision without further reference to you”.

Ahead of the fourth phase of the West Bengal assembly elections, she lashed out at the BJP for raising fuel prices in the country and accused the party of destroying the country and propagating lies against her and Trinamool Congress (AITC) through national channels. She said, “They have over one lakh thugs in West Bengal to convert it into Gujarat. We will not let our state be turned into Gujarat.” 

Mamata said that the BJP has bought several political leaders with money. She hit out at ex-TMC minister Rajib Banerjee, who is contesting from the Domjur constituency for BJP, and said, “I apologise to the people of Domjur for allowing Gaddar Mir Zafar (Rajib Banerjee) to file nomination in the last election from this constituency.”

“That traitor stole money. When he was Irrigation Minister I had received a complaint so I removed him from that post and made him Forest Minister, he asked me for an engineering department, so that he could take more commission,” Mamata said.

Mamata Banerjee chastised the BJP for not coming to West Bengal during the Covid pandemic, cyclone Amphan and floods, but for turning up in huge numbers before the assembly elections, adding “Bengal will never be yours, this is Rabindra-Nazrul`s Bengal, this is Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose`s Bengal, this is Raja Ram Mohan Roy`s Bengal, this is Ambedkar`s Bengal. BJP, you will never get this Bengal.” 

Notably, the high-decibel campaigning for the fourth phase of the West Bengal Assembly elections came to a close after witnessing an intense tussle between the ruling AITC and the BJP.

The fourth phase of the polls will witness 373 candidates contesting for 44 constituencies in five districts – Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, South 24 Parganas, Howrah and Hooghly. The first three phases of the eight-phased elections have already taken place on 27 March, 1 April and 6 April, while the counting of the votes will take place on 2 May. 

Publishing partner: Uprising

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of news stories. Please help us pay them by donating. Click on the button below to contribute.

Sirf News is now on Telegram as well. Click on the button below to join our channel (@sirfnewsdotcom) and stay updated with our unique approach to news

Disclaimer: If the footer of a report says the story is syndicated, it implies that it is a report picked automatically by the RSS feed of the media house mentioned. Such content is not edited by the Sirf News’ team of editors. We have begun this section to benefit our readers with more stories from India and across the world at a one-stop destination. The copyright of such a story belongs to the media house named. Sirf News' system picked it from the mentioned media house's RSS feed available in the public domain.

Related Articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: