Monday 25 October 2021
- Advertisement -
HomeIndiaElectionsMadhya Pradesh by-election result: INC obliterated

Madhya Pradesh by-election result: INC obliterated

The Madhya Pradesh results included, the BJP has won 20 out of 58 seats across 11 states, maintaining the party's pan-Indian footprints


The ex-Congressman Jyotiraditya Scindia-powered BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) took a lead in the Madhya Pradesh by-poll as votes were counted in 56 assembly seats and a seat across 11 states. The contests in Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh were the most engaging.

Given the strong position the BJP was in across the assembly and by-poll constituencies, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Adityanath reiterated the party’s oft-used punchline “If Modi’s around, it’s possible.” “The BJP carries the trust of the entire country. And the people have applied their seal once again on this,” Chief Minister Yogi said.

Half the vacant seats were in Madhya Pradesh, where the result looks like a commentary on Jyotiraditya Scindia. It may now decide the clout he would wield since he quit the INC (Indian National Congress) in March and crossed over to the BJP.

Uttar Pradesh is seeing contest in seven seats. One of them had elected the disgraced Kuldeep Singh Sengar who has been expelled from the BJP after he was convicted in a charge of rape in Unnao in December last year.

Other states that saw by-polls on 3 November are Karnataka, Gujarat, Odisha, and Telangana. Some seats in Manipur and a constituency in Bihar went to the polls on 7 November.

All elections took place amid strict restrictions due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The ruling BJP in Madhya Pradesh is leading in 19 of the 28 assembly constituencies for which byelections were held while the INC is ahead in seven seats, as per the trends of counting on Tuesday. BJP minister Hardeep Singh Dung won the byelection from Suwasara by 29,440 votes.

BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia tweeted congratulatory messages to “the winners” of his party. He expressed confidence that the winners will stay eager for public service and development of their respective constituencies. The 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh fell vacant following Jyotiraditya Scindia’s crossover in March, which triggered the fall of the Kamal Nath government and the return of the BJP.

“We’re not even going to waste a single day. We’ll start working tomorrow on aatmanirbhar MP. It is our duty to work for the people of MP. We accept this win humbly,” Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said today.

In Haryana’s Baroda assembly seat, the INC’s Indu Raj Narwal defeated the BJP’s Yogeshwar Dutt by 12,300 votes. The BJP and the INC were both leading on one seat each in Jharkhand, afternoon trends showed today.

BJP’s Lois Marandi was leading by 3,173 votes over the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Basant Soren in the Dumka seat. The INC’s Kumar Jaimangal (Anup Singh) is ahead by 11,677 votes of the BJP’s Yogeshwar Mahto “Batul” in the Bermo seat.

Of the seven Uttar Pradesh Assembly seats for which counting progressed on Tuesday, the BJP has managed to retain six, while Samajwadi Party (SP) had one. Commenting on the BJP’s performance, Chief Minister Adityanath said, “This points that BJP will perform well in the upcoming elections, too.”

The BJP has won the Dubbaka Assembly by-election. The BJP’s M Raghunandan Rao defeated the TRS’s Solipeta Sujatha by 1,470 votes.

The BJP’s N Munirathna won Bengaluru’s Rajarajeshwari Nagar assembly constituency by over 57,000 votes against his nearest rival, the INC’s Kusuma H, the late IAS officer DK Ravi’s widow. The BJP also created a history of sorts by bagging the Sira assembly segment in Tumakuru district for the first time with party candidate CM Rajesh Gowda defeating his closest rival, the INC’s TB Jayachandra, by a margin of over 12,000 votes. In terms of numbers, these results matter little to the Karnataka government’s stability.

The BJP is close to a clean sweep in the Gujarat by-polls, necessitated after several INC MLAs resigned during the Rajya Sabha polls held in the state earlier. The party is leading in all eight seats for which voting took place on 3 November. The results will be a setback for the newly appointed state INC chief, Hardik Patel. Chief Minister Vijay Rupani described the party’s imminent win as “trailer for the upcoming elections”; the state will hold full Assembly elections in 2022.

The ruling BJD candidates have established early leads over their nearest BJP rivals in both and Tirtol assembly constituencies in Odisha, where counting of votes polled in the byelections held last week was in progress on Tuesday. BJD’s Bijay Shankar Das was leading over BJP’s Rajkishore Behera by 1,078 votes in Tirtol seat in Jagatsinghpur district. In Balasore, BJD candidate Swarup Kumar Das was leading over his nearest BJP nominee Manas Kumar Dutta by 615 votes.

In Chhattisgarh’s Marwahi seat, INC contestant, Dr KK Dhruw, was leading by a margin of 3,664 votes over rival Dr Gambheer Singh of the BJP. The seat, reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates, fell vacant after the death of former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi.

Independent candidates were leading in Nagaland’s bypolls to the Southern Angami I and Pungro Kiphire seats, early trends showed. Seyievilie Peter Zashumo was leading over his nearest rival Medo Yhokha of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) by 922 votes in Southern Angami I. In Pungro Kiphire, T Yangsea Sangtam was leading over his nearest rival and BJP nominee Lirimong Sangtam by 1,161 votes. The by-elections were held in these two seats following the death of sitting legislators Vikho-o Yhoshu and T Torechu, respectively.

The ruling BJP has won two of the five seats that went to polls in Manipur on November 7, ANI has reported. The party was also leading in two seats, while an Independent candidate led on another. The by-polls were necessitated after INC MLAs of these four seats resigned from the assembly and joined the ruling BJP. The ruling BJP has contested in three seats and supported an independent candidate in Lilong, while the INC has fielded its nominees in all the four constituencies.

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -