15 C
New Delhi
Friday 17 January 2020

Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha adjourned for 20th consecutive day

Soon after the House met to take up the day's business, AIADMK members trooped into the Well and raised slogans seeking immediate constitution of the board

New Delhi: Lok Sabha adjourned for the day at noon on Wednesday following protests from AIADMK members. Today marks the 20th consecutive day the House has been adjourned without transacting any substantial business.

AIADMK MPs trooped into the Well demanding constitution of a Cauvery Management Board, following which Speaker Sumitra Mahajan adjourned proceedings.

Rajya Sabha, meanwhile, is adjourned till 2 PM after members raised several issues, including the Punjab National Bank scam, Cauvery dispute, special status for Andhra and the SC/ST Act, among others.

The Upper House has not transacted any notable business either during the ongoing budget session, the second half of which began on 5 March and will end on April 6. Chairman Venkaiah Naidu, before adjourning the House till 2 PM today, called the protests a “murder of democracy”

As pandemonium prevailed, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan adjourned the House till noon after AIADMK members ignored her requests to return to their seats.

At noon, even before the House was re-assembled, AIADMK members carrying placards trooped into the Well of the House shouting slogans such as ‘we want justice’ and ‘we demand Cauvery board’.

Citing assembly polls in Karnataka, the Centre had last week sought more time from the Supreme Court to set up the Cauvery water management board to implement water sharing formula among Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry.

Meanwhile, a dozen members took oath in Rajya Sabha today, including actor-politician Jaya Bachchan, representing Uttar Pradesh, and BJP’s Bhupendra Yadav. The MPs are part of the 58 elected to Rajya Sabha in elections held last month.

Three BJD MPs from Odisha — Prashanta Nanda, Achyutananda Samanta and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik — took oath as well, along with Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Prakash Banda, Joginapally Santosh Kumar and Lingamaiah Yadav. BJP’s Kirodi Lal Meena and Madanlan Saini, who were elected from Rajasthan, took oath in Hindi. G C Chandrasekhar and L Hanumanthaiah, who were elected from Karanataka on a Congress ticket, also took oath.

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

CAA: Never Let A Good Crisis Go To Waste

So said Winston Churchill, a lesson for sure for Prime Miniter Narendra Modi who will use the opposition's calumny over CAA to his advantage

Archbishop Of Bangalore Spreading Canards About CAA

The letter of Archbishop Peter Machado to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, published in The Indian Express, is ridden with factual inaccuracies

Sabarimala: Why Even 7 Judges Weren’t Deemed Enough

For an answer, the reader will have to go through a history of cases similar to the Sabarimala dispute heard in the Supreme Court

Tanhaji: An Unabashed Celebration Of Hindutva

Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior Film Review | Featuring Ajay Devgn, Saif Ali Khan, Kajol, Sharad Kelkar, Luke Kenny and Neha Sharma

Lunar eclipse: Why astrology says 10 Jan relatively innocuous

On 10 January, the penumbra of the earth's shadow rather than the umbra will cause a lunar eclipse, which the scriptures do not recognise

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: