29.2 C
New Delhi
Thursday 9 July 2020

Lok Sabha election: Statistics, highlights VIPs of 6th phase as of 12 noon

The sixth phase of the Lok Sabha election saw President Ram Nath Kovind, several Union and State ministers exercise their franchise

New Delhi: Votes are being cast in 59 constituencies in seven states today for the 6th phase of the Lok Sabha election. By 12 noon, Bengal has registered the highest turnout at 38%. Jharkhand, which was leading earlier, is now in the second position with 31% voter turnout. In Madhya Pradesh, 28% of the voters have exercised their franchise.

In this phase, 979 candidates are in the fray. In 2014, the BJP had won 45 of these 59 seats. Its ally LJP won one while the Congress got two, Trinamool eight, Samajwadi Party one and INLD two seats.

In this phase, there are seven seats in Delhi, eight in Bihar, 10 in Haryana, eight in Madhya Pradesh, 14 in Upper, eight in Bengal, and four seats in Jharkhand that are up for grabs.

Voting is on in Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh in Madhya Pradesh. Apart from this, repatriation is also being done at 168 polling booths of Tripura and 1 booth of Puducherry.

Political murder, repolling in Bengal

Reports of terrible violence have arrived from West Bengal. The body of a BJP worker was found in Gopiballabhpur of Jhargram in the State. The party has accused Trinamool of killing their worker Raman Singh. Two BJP workers Ananta Guchhait and Ranjit Maiti were shot at in Bhagwanpur in East Midnapore. They have been admitted to the hospital.

Booth number 116 in the Barrackpore seat of Bengal and booth number 110 of Arambagh in the State are witnessing re-polls as the previous phase of the election saw these two areas severely affected by violence.

VIPs cast votes

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj voted at the polling booth of Aurangzeb Lane in New Delhi.

Rahul Gandhi voted at the same polling booth. After casting his vote, he told the media elections have been fought on three to four issues, one out of which, unemployment, is very important. The second is that of farmers, the third economy and the fourth corruption and the Rafale deal, he said. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, he claimed, used hate in his campaign while the Congress spread the message of love. The people are the lords in a democracy, Gandhi said, adding they would decide who must rule.

Sonia Gandhi cast her vote in the Nirman Nagar area of Delhi.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar voted in Karnal.

President Ramnath Kovind voted at the polling booth inside the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Former Delhi chief minister and Congress candidate Sheela Dikshit has voted in Nizamuddin East.

Arvind Kejriwal greeted people in the morning via Twitter and urged the voters of Delhi to cast votes for those who worked for them rather than those who spread “hate and poison” and those who stopped work in Delhi. “Your vote can change the country,” he wrote.

In Uttar Pradesh, a debate broke out between Union minister and BJP candidate Maneka Gandhi and SP-BSP-RLD candidate Sonu Singh in Sultanpur. Maneka Gandhi accused the opponent of intimidating voters.

BJP candidate Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur voted in Bhopal.

For more election-related news, please visit this page.
[IT_EPOLL id=”77275″][/IT_EPOLL]

Follow Sirf News on social media:

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: