30 C
New Delhi
Saturday 4 July 2020

Jharkhand list of BJP excludes 10 sitting MLAs

BJP working president JP Nadda said during the press conference that Jharkhand five years ago was associated with corruption and instability

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its first list for the Jharkhand Assembly election on Sunday, nominating 30 sitting MLAs while denying ‘tickets’ to 10 MLAs. Chief Minister Raghubar Das will contest from the Jamshedpur East constituency.

The BJP has announced the names of 52 candidates for the Jharkhand Assembly election. On Sunday, BJP executive president JP Nadda and Arun Singh announced the names of the party candidates seat-wise. The party appears to have catered to all social classes in the distribution of tickets.

The candidate for Lohardaga has not been announced yet. BJP’s ally AJSU wants to contest from this seat. Congress MLA Sukhdev Bhagat from Lohardaga recently joined BJP.

Announcing the candidates, BJP executive president Nadda said that five years ago, Jharkhand was known for corruption and instability. But under the leadership of Raghubar Das, Jharkhand is known for its development and stability, Nadda claimed. “Corruption is over and the state is moving towards development,” he said.

BJP has to share seats with its allies AJSU as well as Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). If AJSU is seeking more than a dozen seats, Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP is seeking half a dozen seats. On Thursday, top BJP leaders had discussed seat-sharing in a meeting.

The meeting of BJP’s Jharkhand core committee was held on Thursday in Delhi at the residence of BJP national vice-president Om Mathur who is in charge of Jharkhand Assembly election. It went on till late night at the residence of BJP president Amit Shah and later in the presence of Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Union minister Arjun Munda, State president Laxman Giluva etc. It is believed that in these two meetings, seat-sharing and candidates’ names were discussed.

The Election Commission announced on 1 November the dates for the Assembly election in Jharkhand. The Assembly election will be held in five phases in Jharkhand.

The first phase of the election will be held on 30 November. The other voting dates are 7 December, 12 December, 16 December and 20 December.

The term of the current Assembly will end on 5 January. Naxalites influence 19 districts of Jharkhand, affecting 67 seats.

Follow Sirf News on social media:

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: