17 C
New Delhi
Sunday 23 February 2020

Jadeja: Arjuna Award will always motivate me to give my best

India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is among the 19 sports persons who were presented with the Arjuna Award this year by the Indian government

New Delhi: India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has thanked the government for honouring him with the Arjuna Award and said the recognition will always inspire him to give his best for the country on the cricket field.

Jadeja is among the 19 sports persons who were presented with the Arjuna Award this year.

“First of all, I would like to thank the Government of India for honouring me with the Arjuna Award. I would also like to congratulate the other winners as well. They’ve performed brilliantly in their fields,” Jadeja said in a video message posted on the BCCI’s Twitter handle.

“My sincere effort always will be to lift the reputation of the Indian team and my country whenever I play for India. I will always try to win matches for the team and make the country proud,” Jadeja added. He missed the National Awards ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday on the occasion of National Sports Day as he is currently at the Caribbean with the national team.

The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in sports. Started in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of Rs 5,00,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Over the years the scope of the award has been expanded and a large number of sports persons who belonged to the pre-Arjuna Award era were also included in the list. Further, the number of disciplines for which the award is given was increased to include indigenous games and the physically handicapped category.

The government has revised the criteria for the Arjuna Award over the years. As per the revised guidelines, a sportsperson, to be eligible for the Award, should not only have shown good performance consistently for the previous four years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline. The total amount awarded is Rs 35,00,00,000.

Leave a Reply

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Hindu They All Claim To Be; Policy Tells Who Really Is

BJP will not merely claim to be Hindu; it will bring CAA, NRC; let debutant, me-too Hindu parties beat it with UCC & population control bill

Tapas Pal, A Death No One Would Genuinely Condole

In 1980, after Bengali film superstar Uttam Kumar died, Dadar Kirti of Tarun Majumdar was released after Durga Puja. The voice...

Must India Invest In Donald Trump?

As many of his cabinet picks know, to their eternal regret and shame, his commitment lasts only as long as you are gullible

Protesters Need Economic Education, Mr Bhagwat

There is no escape from misery unless teams of economic educators convince all sections of society socialism is the cause of their distress

BJP Could Not Have Won With This Approach To Delhi

From not paying attention to the corruption-ridden MCD to aloof leaders whose houses witnessed no activity during campaigns, BJP went all wrong in the Delhi assembly election

More from the author

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: