26.9 C
New Delhi
Friday 18 October 2019
Sports IPL 2018: Winless Mumbai Indians need Rohit Sharma to...

IPL 2018: Winless Mumbai Indians need Rohit Sharma to fire

Rohit Sharma was expected to lead the MI side from the front, and it seems like he has continued to struggle with form ending up with scores of 15, 11 and 18


- Advertisment -

Mumbai: Defending champions Mumbai Indians are still struggling for first win in this season. RCB, on the other hand, has won against KXIP but were comprehensively beaten by KKR and RR. Both the sides lack consistency in the bowling department but their batsmen got better by every game.

MI have their problems to sort out, having lost at the death in all three games so far, RCB, too have their own shortcomings to address with only one win in three games under their belt.

However, history suggests that it is from this point onwards that MI tend to turn their campaign on its head by coming back triumphantly and taking the IPL by storm. Adam Milne has joined the ranks of Mumbai and it will interesting to see if he gets a game. The Pandya brothers – Hardik and Krunal are yet to make an impact in the first three games.

Rohit Sharma was expected to lead the MI side from the front, and it seems like he has continued to struggle with the form ending up with scores of 15, 11 and 18. On other hand MI bowlers, which consists the likes of Mustafizur, Bumrah, Hardik Pandya among a few others.

For RCB skipper Virat Kohli returned to form with his fastest fifty on Sunday. Whether he continues to fire will be worth watching. Young  Washington Sundar is still fairly new to the IPL but has grabbed the limelight with a couple of impressive performances.

AB de Villiers is one of the five players to score 500 IPL runs against Mumbai Indians. He scored 510 runs against them in 17 innings at an average of 39.23 with a career best of 133*.

Barring leggie Yuzvendra Chahal, who bowled brilliantly to grab 2 for 22, the other RCB bowlers had an off day against the Royals.

Team Head to Head

Overall: Matches – 21, MI won – 13, RCB won – 8


MI: Rohit Sharma(captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dhananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne.

RCB: Virat Kohli(captain), Quinton de Kock(wicket-keeper), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee.

Orange Cap

Player                   match Inning Runs  HS
Sanju Samson            3        3       178    92*
Purple Cap
Player                   match  Inning  Over  Wkt
Sunil Narine               4         4         15      7



Team Pld Net RR Pts
1 SRH 3 +0.772 6
2 KKR 4 +0.863 4
3 KXIP 3 +0.116 4
4 CSK 3 +0.103 4
5 RR 3 -0.247 4
6 RCB 3 -0.373 2
7 DD 4 -1.399 2
8 MI 3 -0.174 0

The match starts at 8 PM IST.

Subscribe to our newsletter

You will get all our latest news and articles via email when you subscribe

The email despatches will be non-commercial in nature
Disputes, if any, subject to jurisdiction in New Delhi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

Leave a Reply


Karva Chauth: Faith, legend behind viewing the moon through a sieve

The legend and Karva Chauth rituals vary across Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Delhi and, in south India, Andhra Pradesh

Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir, Here We Come!

Study Wuhan and Mamallapuram in the backdrop of the fact that things are not quite working out in China-Pakistan economic relations, notwithstanding the urge of the communist state to contain India and that of the Islamic state to challenge it

Slowdown Has Reasons Other Than GST, Demonetisation

When all economic sectors decline, the mood of the market turns sombre, turning investors all the more reluctant to pump in money; the interdependence of industries means that the slowdown suffered by one would affect many

Where China & India, Resisting & Improving Democracy, Meet

What you see in Hong Kong is China resisting democracy; what you see in Kashmir is India promoting it; a reasonably capitalist China does not offer freedom politically but India, held back at times by the choice of the people, is still opening up; there could be a point of convergence as the two nations move in opposite directions

Omega-3: Study published in BMJ claiming no benefit for type 2 diabetes has myopic vision

Most respondents in the omega-3 study published in the BMJ are from Europe and North America; such results can hardly be applied worldwide
- Advertisement -


Pakistan-sponsored terrorists now sneaking into India are Afghan, Pashtun

A meeting attended by heads of Pakistan Army, ISI and terror outfits was held in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa of Pakistan where the plot was hatched

Manmohan Singh, is this your dissent or self-goal?

While the Congress is opposed to Veer Savarkar, Manmohan Singh tried today to not let the BJP take all the credit for recognising the freedom fighter

Pakistani F-16s chased Indian passenger plane in September

Two Pakistani F-16 aircraft tried to stop a SpiceJet aircraft on its way to Kabul carrying 120 passengers mid-air on 23 September

पाकिस्तान के साथ क्रिकेट संबंधों पर बोले सौरभ — मोदी, ख़ान तय करें

'पाकिस्तान के साथ खेलने के लिए हमें अनुमति लेनी होगी; अंतर्राष्ट्रीय दौरे सरकारों की अनुमति से होते हैं; हमारे पास इस सवाल का जवाब नहीं है'

Malaysia wants to import more from India after adverse comment on Kashmir

Mahathir Mohamad has always been supportive of Pakistan; India-Malaysia relations had improved after he was out of power in 2003

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: