Wednesday 26 January 2022
- Advertisement -

IPL 2018: The real glory

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals have made a comeback this season after serving a two-year ban

New Delhi: Indian Premier League (IPL) is scheduled to begin on Saturday. No longer will one see the neon colours of Gujarat Lions or utter the mouthful that was Rising Pune Supergiant.

Chennai Super Kings and Royals have made a comeback this season after serving a two-year ban, this year’s version of the Indian Premier League is all set to raise the roof.

Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during April and May of every year by teams representing Indian cities and some states. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007.

Royal Challengers Bangalore didn’t retain Chris Gayle. They now rely solely on the bankable brilliance of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers.

This year’s tournament the greatest change is the inclusion of the Decision Review System (DRS) for the first time in its decade-long history.

Royals and will play this year’s IPL without their regular skippers, Steve Smith and David Warner, both of whom have been indicted in a ball-tampering scandal and slapped with one-year bans by Cricket Australia.

After Dhoni, Rohit Sharma extended his good captaincy record in the Twenty20 format. He captained Mumbai Indians in three IPL finals (2013, 2015 and 2017). MS Dhoni won a record six finals.

Most wins in Twenty20 finals as a captain:

Captain     Matches    Wins

MS Dhoni       11            5

Shoaib Malik    9             5

Rohit Sharma   5             5

Mashrafe Mortaza 5         4

Imran Nazir        4          4

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in league’s history in terms of the number of titles won. The Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have won two titles each, and the other three teams who have won the tournament are the Deccan Chargers,  Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

4540 Runs scored by Suresh Raina most by any in the IPL, also taking the most no. of catches, two records that are still unbroken. Raina also hit the second maximum no. of sixes(173) behind Chris Gayle in all editions of the league.

all-rounder Ben Stokes will again be the player to watch after being bought by the RR. Chennai not retaining R Ashwin was a major headline. The off-spinner will now play for Kings XI Punjab and lead the likes of Gayle, and KL Rahul.

The 8 team tournament runs through to 27 May when the battle for the $4 million first prize will be held in Mumbai.


Siddharth Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

Get in Touch

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles


Get in Touch



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: