31 C
New Delhi
Saturday 11 July 2020

IPL 2018: RCB and KKR look to get back to winning ways

In their most-recent match, RCB – despite posting 205-8 – were blown away by Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni who steered Chennai Super Kings home

Bengaluru: Match 30 of VIVO IPL 2018 will see the Royal Challengers Bangalore take on the Kolkata Knight Riders. Both teams are part of the mid-table muddle, and will seek to establish some momentum. RCB have two wins from 6 matches, while KKR have 3 wins from 7 outings.

RCB are struggling at sixth position after two wins and as many as four defeats, while the visiting KKR side is placed fourth with three victories and four losses.

In their most-recent match, RCB – despite posting 205-8 – were blown away by Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni who steered Chennai Super Kings home. RCB are yet to find a combination that works; while they are hugely reliant on the captain Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers to score runs, there are hugeconcerns surrounding the bowling attack.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers are the two-most accomplished batsmen in the RCB ranks; between them, they have scored more than half the runs scored by the team’s batsmen this season. Plenty more will be expected off them. RCB have leaked the most runs through boundaries this season; they’ve conceded 64.57% runs through boundaries.

In the previous match between these two teams, Nitish Rana dismissed Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers off consecutive deliveries. The spin duo of Yuzuvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar and seamers Chris Woakes and Umesh Yadav have done well in parts and need to bring their best in order to avoid another defeat which could endanger their playoff chances.

KKR will look to arrest their losing streak at two matches; their bowlers have now been plundered twice in two matches – first against Kings XI Punjab, and most recently against the Delhi Daredevils.

The top guns of KKR Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn and Dinesh Karthik will again need to live up to the expectations by contributing in a big way. KKR have two local options in Vinay Kumar – who hasn’t featured since failing to defend 17 off the final over against CSK – and Praisdh Krishna – who was brought in as a replacement for the injured Kamlesh Nagarkoti. In place of Johnson, KKR can bring back Tom Curran.

KKR will be hoping for an all-round game, since their bowlers and batsmen have not clicked in unison in the past two games. KKR have big names in their batting line-up too, right until Andre Russell walks in at six or seven. All-rounder Andre Russell firing in unison.

The spin trio of Narine, Kuldeep Yadav and Piyush Chawla also contributed to KKR’s victory in the first leg.

Team Head to Head

Overall: Matches – 21, Royal Challengers Bangalore won – 9, Kolkata Knight Riders won – 12


RCB: Virat Kohli(captain), Quinton de Kock(wicket-keeper), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (c), Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Apoorv Wankhade, Ishank Jaggi and Tom Curran.

Orange Cap

Player                   match Inning Runs  HS
Ambati Rayudu          7        7        329    82
Purple Cap
Player                   match  Inning  Over  Wkt
Trent Boult                7          7        25.5    11
Team Pld Net RR Pts
1 CSK 7 +0.538 10
2 SRH 7 +0.509 10
3 KXIP 7 +0.228 10
4 KKR 7 +0.062 6
5 RR 6 -0.801 6
6 MI 7 +0.033 4
7 RCB 6 -0.446 4
8 DI 7 -0.482 4

The match starts at 8 PM IST.


Follow Sirf News on social media:

Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: