IPL 2018: MI face KXIP in must-win game today

MI will be desperate for a win against KXIP to keep their play-off hopes alive when they square-off in a crucial match


Mumbai: Mumbai Indians will be desperate for a win against Kings XI Punjab to keep their playoff hopes alive when they square-off in a crucial match here today. Rohit Sharma-led brigade came up with a spirited show to register a hat-trick of wins before faltering against Rajasthan Royals in their previous game.

Today’s win will propel MI straight into the fourth slot, courtesy their NRR advantage over all the seven other teams in the competition, and from there, MI will fancy a win against Delhi Daredevils to consolidate their spot in the top-half.

MI will expect Suryakumar Yadav to extend his streak of consistency, and add more this kitty. They also need their captain Rohit Sharma who was dismissed for a first-ball duck in the previous match to step up and play one of his match-winning knocks.

MI will rely on their quicks to do plenty of damage with the ball; Hardik Pandya, Bumrah and McClenaghan have taken 43 wickets between them.

KXIP were table-toppers at one point in time, but have since slipped down the table; they had five wins in their first six matches, but have since managed to post only one win in their next six matches.

KL Rahul is batting well and Karun Nair has been inconsistent with 247 runs so far, while veteran Yuvraj Singh and Mayank Agarwal are yet to make their presence felt in the middle-order.

Andrew Tye will look to firm up his grip on the Purple Cap; the Australian has taken 20 wickets so far and has been extremely successful at the death. Afghan teenaged spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman has also been brilliant.

Team Head to Head

Overall: Matches – 21, Mumbai Indians won – 11, Kings XI Punjab won – 10

At the Wankhede Stadium: Matches – 7, Mumbai Indians won – 3, Kings XI Punjab won – 4


MI: Rohit Sharma(captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dhananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne.

KXIP: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Mayank Dagar, Aaron Finch, Chris Gayle, Manzoor Dar, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Lokesh Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Andrew Tye, Ben Dwarshuis, Ankit Rajpoot, Pardeep Sahu, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath.

Player                   match Inning Runs  HS
Rishabh Pant            12       12      582   128*
Purple Cap
Player                   match  Inning  Over  Wkt
AndrewTye               11        11        44      20
Team Pld Net RR Pts
1 SRH(Q) 12 +0.400 18
2 CSK(Q) 12 +0.383 16
3 KKR 13 -0.096 14
4 RR 13 -0.399 12
5 KXIP 12 -0.518 12
6 MI 12 +0.405 10
7 RCB 12 +0.218 10
8 DD 12 -0.478 6

The match starts at 8 PM IST.