15 C
New Delhi
Friday 17 January 2020

IPL 2018: Kohli eyes first win against Punjab

RCB's batting line-up like Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers are the 3 batsman capable of destroying the opposition

New Delhi: Royal Challengers Bangalore will be keen to open their account in Vivo IPL 2018 when they take on Kings XI Punjab in Match 8. In their season opener, RCB recovered to 176-7 – still about 20 runs short on a good batting surface at the Eden Gardens.

KXIP and RCB are two of the three IPL teams that have never won a single IPL tournament. Now they will be hoping to change that in IPL 2018. Kings XI Punjab won their first game of the season against Delhi Daredevils.

KXIP’s chase of 167 was powered by KL Rahul, who scored the fastest half-century in the IPL. Despite that blitz by Rahul, KXIP still only meandered to a win, when they should have cruised past the finish line.

KXIP will make a change or two primarily to accommodate Aaron Finch. That could mean one of David Milller or Andrew Tye will miss out, and the decision of who misses out could dictate the make-up of the rest of the team.

RCB’s batting line-up like Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers are the three batsmen capable of destroying the opposition. Between them, the trio has an aggregate of 22,374 runs and hundreds in T20 cricket. RCB have also been chokers having lost three semi-finals and two IPL finals.

RCB has a dependable bowling attack With Yuzvendra Chahal, Tim Southee, Corey Anderson, Coling de Grandhomme and Washington Sundar.

In the last match, RCB got a few tactics wrong in that match and they will not want to repeat those mistakes; captain Virat Kohli could have avoided using Yuzvendra Chahal to open the bowling, the leg-spinner’s fourth over was unused.

Toss will also important in this fixture as four of the last 5 T20 matches played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium have been won by the side that has bowled first.

Team Head to Head

Overall: Matches – 20, RCB won – 8, KXIP won – 12


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Brendon McCullum, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Quinton de Kock, Mohammed Siraj, Colin de Grandhomme, Corey Anderson, M Ashwin, Parthiv Patel, Moeen Ali, Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, Pawan Negi, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Pavan Deshpande, Anirudha Joshi.

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Mayank Dagar, Aaron Finch, Chris Gayle, Manzoor Dar, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Lokesh Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Andrew Tye, Ben Dwarshuis, Ankit Rajpoot, Pardeep Sahu, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath.

Orange Cap

Player                   match Inning Runs  HS
Shikhar DHawan         2        2       123    78
Purple Cap
Player                   match  Inning  Over  Wkt
Mayank Markande       2         2          8       7



1 SRH 2 +0.958 4
2 CSK 2 +0.254 4
3 KXIP 1 +0.567 2
4 KKR 2 +0.195 2
5 RR 2 -1.065 2
6 MI 2 -0.233 0
7 RCB 1 -0.598 0
8 DD 2 -0.851 0


The match starts at 8PM IST.

Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

CAA: Never Let A Good Crisis Go To Waste

So said Winston Churchill, a lesson for sure for Prime Miniter Narendra Modi who will use the opposition's calumny over CAA to his advantage

Archbishop Of Bangalore Spreading Canards About CAA

The letter of Archbishop Peter Machado to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, published in The Indian Express, is ridden with factual inaccuracies

Sabarimala: Why Even 7 Judges Weren’t Deemed Enough

For an answer, the reader will have to go through a history of cases similar to the Sabarimala dispute heard in the Supreme Court

Tanhaji: An Unabashed Celebration Of Hindutva

Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior Film Review | Featuring Ajay Devgn, Saif Ali Khan, Kajol, Sharad Kelkar, Luke Kenny and Neha Sharma

Lunar eclipse: Why astrology says 10 Jan relatively innocuous

On 10 January, the penumbra of the earth's shadow rather than the umbra will cause a lunar eclipse, which the scriptures do not recognise

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: