13.4 C
New Delhi
Thursday 23 January 2020

IPL 2018: All eyes on Rahane and Williamson

New Delhi: Sunrisers Hyderabad will open their Vivo IPL 2018 campaign when they take on the returning Rajasthan Royals in Match 4 today.

Rajasthan Royals make a return to the IPL after two years with a trip to Hyderabad to face the 2016 IPL winners. Rajasthan Royals has a good bunch of players with Rahane, Buttler, Stokes, Stuart Binny, Jaydev Unadkat and Sanju Samson in their ranks.

Ben Stokes was in the thick of things in his maiden stint in the IPL last season; he scored 316 runs (including a century & a half-century), took 12 wickets & clung on to 5 catches.

RR had to reorganise their plans last minute because their first-choice captain Steve Smith too was banned by the BCCI. RR spent liberally and signed up some exciting talent, including the English all-rounder Ben Stokes, the wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler and Heinrich Klaasen.

Sunrisers Hyderabad lost their top scorer, David Warner, while the Royals lost the Australian captain, Steve Smith, just before the start of the tournament.

SRH would bank upon their strong batting line up that includes new captain Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan, Yusuf Pathan, Manish Pandey, Carlos Brathwaite, Deepak Hooda and Shakib Al Hasan.

Shikhar Dhawan has been in excellent form so far this year, and he will be expected to shoulder the additional responsibility to make up for the absence of David Warner.

In the SRH line-up, Bhuvneshwar Kumar – the Purple Cap winner in the last two IPL seasons, and Rashid Khan are the ones likely to cause most damage with the ball.

Team Head to Head

Overall: Matches – 7, Sunrisers Hyderabad won – 3, Rajasthan Royals won – 4


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (C ), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddharth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Ricky Bhui, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Tanmay Agarwal, Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite, Rashid Khan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan and Billy Stanlake.

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (C ), Ankit Sharma, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jofra Archer, D’Arcy Short, Dushmantha Chameera, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, S Midhun, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin, Prashant Chopra, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mahipal Lomror, Jatin Saxena, Anureet Singh, Aryaman Birla, Jos Buttler, Heinrich Klaasen, Zahir Khan and Rahul Tripathi.

Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Pandits: 30 Years Since Being Ripped Apart

Pandits say, and rightly so, that their return to Kashmir cannot be pushed without ensuring a homeland for the Islam-ravaged community for conservation of their culture

Fear-Mongering In The Times Of CAA

No one lived in this country with so much fear before,” asserted a friend while dealing with India's newly amended citizenship...

CAA: Never Let A Good Crisis Go To Waste

So said Winston Churchill, a lesson for sure for Prime Miniter Narendra Modi who will use the opposition's calumny over CAA to his advantage

Archbishop Of Bangalore Spreading Canards About CAA

The letter of Archbishop Peter Machado to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, published in The Indian Express, is ridden with factual inaccuracies

Sabarimala: Why Even 7 Judges Weren’t Deemed Enough

For an answer, the reader will have to go through a history of cases similar to the Sabarimala dispute heard in the Supreme Court

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: