31.3 C
New Delhi
Sunday 7 June 2020

India’s Asia Cup match against Hong Kong to get ODI status

Hong Kong have been clubbed with India and Pakistan in one group while other group comprises of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan



New Delhi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to accord One-Day International status to India and Pakistan’s group league matches against Hong Kong in the upcoming Asia Cup 2018, starting 15 September, according to a BCCI official.

Hong Kong, an ICC associate member, is yet to get ODI status but have beaten Nepal, who recently earned the ODI status, to qualify for the Asia Cup. When a country doesn’t have an ODI status, the matches aren’t counted as official One-dayers.

‘’The ICC board has agreed to our request of according ODI status to both India vs Hong Kong and Pakistan vs Hong Kong games. If you remember during women’s Asia Cup T20, India vs Thailand match wasn’t counted as an official T20. But this time, there’s been an exception,’’ a senior BCCI official said on Sunday.

The BCCI along with Asian Cricket Council (ACC) had placed a request with the ICC board, the two matches involving Hong Kong should be considered as official ODIs.

Hong Kong has been clubbed with India and Pakistan in one group while another group comprises of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. Hong Kong is scheduled to play Pakistan on 16 September followed by their match against India on 18 September.

“In order to simplify the situation we will extend the ICC Cricket World Cup principle of all matches being ODIs to other tournaments where a number of the teams have ODI status and some not, this includes the Asia Cup and ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers,” the statement further read.

“The fact that these events are open to teams beyond the existing 16 teams that currently have ODI status is important and, accordingly, ensuring all matches are granted ODI status is befitting of the events and just reward for the teams that have qualified.

“Of course all T20 matches between ICC Members now have T20I status and we are in the midst of reviewing the whole issue of ODI status, which review should be completed in the next few months,” the statement concluded.

Apart from Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka will take part in the two-week event.

These five sides will also feature in the 10-team ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will take place in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July 2019.

Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi
Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: