Thursday 29 July 2021
- Advertisement -

Indian squad against WI: Shami, Bhuvneshwar return in T20

Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant have, despite poor performances, been retained in the Indian squad for while Shardul Thakur could not make it

The Indian cricket team for the limited-overs home series against the West Indies was announced on Thursday. After a long time, fast bowler Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have returned to the shortest format of the , . Pacer Deepak Chahar, who took a hat-trick in the T20 series against , has been included in the One-Day team along with the T20.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, who was included in the 15-member squad against Bangladesh, was dropped from the Indian team without being given a chance. Ravindra Jadeja replaced Krunal Pandya in T20 after ODI. Shardul Thakur was also shown the way out.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant have, despite poor performances, been retained in the squad for the format. Kedar Jadhav managed to retain his place in the ODI team. He was also a member of the team on the West Indies tour.

Mumbai’s young all-rounder Shivam Dubey has also been given a chance in the T20’s one-day squad, after domestic cricket, he also impressed in the T20 series against Bangladesh. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep are back in the ODI team.

The meeting of the selection committee in Kolkata was attended by chairman , selection committee members Gagan Khoda, Sharandeep Singh, Jatin Paranjpe and Debang Gandhi, besides Indian captain Virat Kohli, newly appointed chairman of the board , vice-chairman Jay Shah.

Indian team for ODI

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dubey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

T20I team

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dubey, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

The Indian team has to play three T20 matches against the West Indies which will be played in Mumbai (6 December), Thiruvananthapuram (8 December) and Hyderabad (11 December). The three ODIs are to be held in Chennai (15 December), Visakhapatnam (18 December) and Cuttack (22 December).

To serve the nation better through journalism, Sirf News needs to increase the volume of news and views, for which we must recruit many journalists, pay news agencies and make a dedicated server host this website — to mention the most visible costs. Please contribute to preserve and promote our civilisation by donating generously:

Related Articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: