Tuesday 17 May 2022
- Advertisement -

IND vs WI 3rd ODI: Who’ll have the last laugh?

India that lost the bilateral series to Australia in March has never lost two consecutive series in the last 15 years; WI hasn't won a series against India in the last 13 years

If the confident Indian cricket team enters the third ODI on Sunday, it will be their aim to win the 10th consecutive bilateral series against the West Indies. had registered a resounding win in the first ODI, but India returned with élan by winning the second match in Visakhapatnam.

In the second ODI in the series, Skipper Virat Kohli did not click but all the top order batsmen performed brilliantly and Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav hit a hat-trick. India won the second match by 107 runs. The next match will begin at 1:30 PM.

Records for India: Jayasuriya on Rohit’s radar

Rohit Sharma, who scored 159 runs in the second match, is a mere nine runs behind the record of highest run-scorer Sanat Jayasuriya in all formats.

KL Rahul scored a century, too, in the first wicket of 220 runs. Rahul, who started the innings from the World Cup match against Pakistan in June, has confirmed his place by performing brilliantly against the West Indies. Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant scored as well.

In the bowling department, Delhi fast bowler Navdeep Saini may get a chance to replace Deepak Chahar.

India’s performance in fielding did not go as expected. Iyer did run out Shimron Hetmyer with a brilliant throw but Chahar missed the catches of Nicholas Pooran and Shai Hope. Kohli said after the match, “We have to do better catching. You have to overcome your mistakes. Fielding needs to be enjoyed.”

The pitch at the Barabati Stadium will help batsmen like that in Visakhapatnam did. Hetmyer and Hope kept the Indian bowlers under pressure in Chennai where Iyer would have played a big innings once again if he did not have the best throw in the second match.

In the auction, Delhi Capitals bought Hetmyer for Rs 7.5 crore. His partner Sheldon Cottrell was bought by Kings XI Punjab for eight and a half crores. At the same time, no one has bid on Hope who scored the most runs after Rohit this year. He would like to prove his usefulness by playing a big innings in this match. Kieran Pollard’s team won the toss in the first two ODIs and decided to bowl.

Here too, keeping in mind the dew, the teams will want to avoid bowling in the second innings. The team will be trying to win a bilateral series after 13 years with India.

India that lost the bilateral series to Australia in March has never lost two consecutive series in the last 15 years.

The teams

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dubey, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Shami, Shardul Thakur

: Kieran Pollard (captain), Sunil Ambareesh, Shai Hope, Khari Pierre, Roston Chase, Aljari Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Keemo Pal, Hayden Walsh Junior

Sirf News on social media



Similar Articles


0 0 votes
Article Rating

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Contribute to our cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Or scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: