Tuesday 28 June 2022
- Advertisement -

India vs South Africa T20 series-hosting stadia can be filled to capacity

The India vs South Africa T20 series, to be played regardless of Covid, will be the visitors' first T20I competition after the ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Unperturbed by remnants of -origin coronavirus mutants, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has allowed full seating capacity in the stadiums for India vs South Africa T20 series starting 9 June. Five matches will be played in the India vs South Africa series. The first one will take place at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi. The Barabati Stadium in Cuttack, Odisha, will host the second match on 12 June.

On 14 June, the third match of the India vs South Africa T20 series will take place at the Dr YSR ACA VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh. The Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot, Gujarat will host the fourth match on 17 June. The fifth and final match will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Karnataka, on 19 June.

The Covid-19 pandemic has had a huge impact on cricket earnings around the world. The Indian Premier League debuted in April 2021 but was forced to be cancelled a month later due to an increase in Covid infections across the country.

In September, it resumed in the United Arab Emirates, with Chennai Super Kings defeating Kolkata Knight Riders in the final on October 15 in Dubai. Due to the pandemic, the IPL was held in the United Arab Emirates in 2020.

The India vs South Africa T20 series will be the visitors’ first T20I after the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. South Africa and India, along with Pakistan and Bangladesh, have been drawn together for the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup, which will be held in Australia in 2022.

India vs South Africa T20 series: One of two squads announced

South Africa had recently announced their 16 member squad for the T20I series they will play against India.

South Africa announced its squad for the upcoming T20I tour of India with limited-overs captain Temba Bavuma looking to lead the side to glory, in what will be an important tour for the Proteas in yet another World Cup year. This will be South Africa’s first T20I tournament since narrowly out on qualifying for the semi-finals at the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup. South Africa and India have also been grouped together along with Pakistan and Bangladesh for the Super 12 stage of the upcoming 2022 ICC T20 World Cup, scheduled to be played in Australia.

Proteas T20 team vs India: Temba Bavuma (captain, Imperial Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Dwaine Pretorius (North West Dragons), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors).

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Latest video

Share via

Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: