Sunday 19 September 2021
- Advertisement -
HomeSportsIndia 2021 T20 World Cup squad has Dhoni as mentor

India 2021 T20 World Cup squad has Dhoni as mentor

India are placed in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage of the event with New Zealand, Afghanistan and two qualifiers from Round 1 of the World T20

The BCCI on 8 September announced India 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup, which will be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from 17 October to 14 November. Virat Kohli will lead the Indian side with opener Rohit Sharma as his deputy.

Premier fast bowler of India Jasprit Bumrah has returned to the T20I side for the first time in over a year. Kohli, Rohit, Suryakumar Yadav, and KL Rahul will be part of the batting core, with and Ishan Kishan as the two wicket-keepers.

Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel have been named as all-rounders of the side. On the bowling front, Bumrah will spearhead the pace force, with  and Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the mix. 

Experienced off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has found a place in the set-up. The 34-year-old Ashwin last played white-ball for India in 2017.

Chief selector Chetan Sharma said, “Ashwin is an asset. He performed well in the IPL and we needed a player of his experience. We need an off-spinner with Washington (Sundar) injured. Ashwin is the only off-spinner in the squad. Varun is a mystery spinner who is a surprise package for the world.”

Sharma said that all-rounder Hardik Pandya was “absolutely fit and will bowl his quota of overs.” “We have picked Rahul Chahar over Yuzi as we wanted someone who bowls fast and gets pace off the pitch,” the chief selector explained.

Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy have been included in the spin-bowling unit of the T20 team of India. Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur have been named as standby players. Shikhar Dhawan-Prithvi Shaw duo and Yuzvendra Chahal, however, have failed to make the cut. 

Notably, former skipper MS Dhoni will be mentoring the team in the marquee tournament. 

India are placed in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage of the marquee event. The other members of the group are New Zealand, Afghanistan and two more teams who qualify after Round 1 of the World T20.

India will kick off their campaign against former archrivals Pakistan on 24 October in Dubai. The Men in Blue will then have matches against New Zealand (31 October), Afghanistan (3 November), and the two teams which will secure their places in the main tournament through qualifiers (on 5 November and 8 November).

The Twenty20 showpiece is slated to begin immediately after the conclusion of the second phase of the 2021 Indian Premier League (IPL).

Team India: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

To serve the nation better through journalism, Sirf News needs to increase the volume of news and views, for which we must recruit many journalists, pay news agencies and make a dedicated server host this website — to mention the most visible costs. Please contribute to preserve and promote our civilisation by donating generously:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Whether it is for training or to celebrate tasty treats with loved ones, @mirabai_chanu uses her @rbl_bank's Mastercard Credit Card for every occasion. So, what are you waiting for? #UseBefikar for a safe payment experience.

#KyunkiKuchKhushiyanHaiPriceless #UseBefikar

ITBP Rally from Kullu to Amritsar concluded at Amritsar today. Rally flags will be handed over to North West Frontier ITBP by Northern Frontier ITBP tomorrow morning.


@PIB_India @DDNewslive @airnewsalerts

Just like nation needs new generation of leaders, we need younger generation of op-ed writers and political commentators.

Some of them have become so ghisa-pita that the fact that they have vested interests is not at all hidden from even the naive.

A senior #US trade official privately criticised #India's July decision to Mastercard Inc from issuing new cards, calling it a "draconian" move that caused "panic", a global news wire reported.

The #RBI (@RBI) accuses companies of breaking local data-storage rules.

Read further:
- Advertisment -

Popular since 2014