Thursday 26 May 2022
- Advertisement -

Imran Khan caught Supreme Court bowled National Assembly

The no-trust vote was mandated after Pakistan's Supreme Court struck down the deputy speaker's rejection of the motion against Imran Khan in NA

Join Sirf News on


After days of high political drama, Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan was ousted from power on Sunday when he lost a vote of confidence in Parliament, a long way off from completing his five-year term.

Sunday’s vote followed multiple adjournments in the chamber, called due to lengthy speeches by members of Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party, who said there was a “foreign conspiracy” to oust the cricket star-turned-politician.

The no-trust vote was mandated after Pakistan’s Supreme Court on Thursday unanimously struck down the ruling by Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri on the rejection of the no-confidence motion against Imran Khan.

The National Assembly convened for the no-trust motion at 10.30 AM (Pakistan time) on Saturday but the proceedings were delayed multiple times. The voting began at 11.58 PM on Saturday and continued past midnight.

Moments before the voting started, Speaker Asad Qaiser and Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri tendered their resignation. Opposition party leader Ayaz Sadiq was asked to take over the assembly session.

While Imran Khan chose to remain absent during the vote, his party staged a walkout.

Opposition parties, whose ranks were strengthened by defections from the ruling PTI-led coalition, were able to secure 174 votes in the 342-member House in support of the no-confidence motion, making it a majority vote.

With this, Khan became the first sitting prime minister in the of Pakistan to be removed from office through a no-confidence motion.

Even before his government lost the no-trust vote in the National Assembly, Khan vacated the PM’s residence.

After Imran Khan’s removal, Pakistan’s General Khalid Javed resigned from his post. In a letter to President Arif Alvi, he stated that he had tried to serve the country to the best of his ability and conscience.

With Imran Khan’s departure as Pakistan PM, the stage is clear for Leader of the Opposition and Pakistan League-N (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif to be the country’s next prime minister.

Candidates for Pakistan’s next prime minister are due to file nomination papers on Sunday, with the election taking place when the National Assembly reconvenes at 2 PM on Monday. Leader of Opposition and Pakistan League-Nawaz (PML-N) chief Shehbaz Sharif is being touted as the frontrunner for the top post.

While Khan has not commented publicly on his ouster, his PTI party has called for nationwide “peaceful protests” on Sunday. In an address to the nation on Friday, a defiant Khan said he would not accept an “imported government” and called on people to hit the streets.

On Sunday, the Islamabad High Court accepted a petition seeking an inquiry into the alleged letter used by Imran Khan and his party to claim the involvement of a foreign power to topple the Pakistan government in collusion with Opposition parties. The matter will be heard on Monday.

Parliamentary elections are not due until August 2023. However, the Opposition has said it wants early elections, but only after it delivered a political defeat to Khan and passes legislation it says is required to ensure the next polls are free and fair.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: