Southampton: Mahendra Singh Dhoni sporting an Army insignia on his glove during the India-South Africa clash was well appreciated by his fans but the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday requested the BCCI to have the badge removed, saying it is against its regulations.
ICC General Manager – Strategic Communications Claire Furlong told journalists that the apex body had requested the Indian cricket board to have the sign removed. India’s next game is against Australia on Sunday.
“It is against the regulations and we have requested it be removed,” Furlong said.
When asked if Dhoni, who is an honorary lieutenant colonel in the parachute regiment of the Territorial Army, could be penalised for the breach of an ICC regulation, the ICC general manager added: “For the first breach, no; just a request to remove.”
Dhoni’s love for the Indian Army is well known. During the opening World Cup fixture against South Africa in Southampton on Wednesday, Dhoni’s gloves attracted a lot of public attention when the TV cameras zoomed in.
The regimental dagger insignia of the para forces was embossed on his green wicket-keeping gloves.
While there is a possibility that Dhoni may have worn these gloves with the dagger insignia earlier also, it did get a lot of traction on social media with fans loving his unique way of paying tribute to the armed forces.
What is the rule, ICC?
On studying the rules of the ICC applicable to players’ dresses, Sirf News could not, however, find a regulation that debars cricketers from sporting the kind of logo that Dhoni’s gloves carried.
The logo the former cricket captain sported is not commercial. The regulation on a “national logo” states, “The National Logo, name of the country or national flag should not contain any advertising and must not interfere with any element of the clothing identifying the player.”
A “national logo” is defined by the ICC as “an ICC Approved Logo of a country or its ICC Member Board”. Is there something in a wing of the Indian Army that the ICC wouldn’t approve of?