26.3 C
New Delhi
Monday 23 September 2019
India Elections How to vote: Election Commission explains

How to vote: Election Commission explains

As the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha election is on, it is important to know the dos and don'ts as you exercise your franchise, especially if you are a first-time voter


- Advertisment -

New Delhi: The fourth phase of the Indian general election, 2019, is on as brisk voting is reported from various constituencies. At this juncture, it is important to know how to vote, especially if you are a first-time voter. The Election Commission has made it easy for you. Follow the steps below.

You can vote only if your name appears in the Voter List (also known as Electoral Roll). Voters can also find information on Polling Booths, Contesting candidates, Election Dates & Timings, Identity cards and EVM.

How to vote

First polling official will check your name on the voter list and check your ID proof

Second polling official will ink your finger, give you a slip and take your signature on a register (Form 17A)

You will have to deposit the slip at the third polling official and show your inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth

Record your vote by pressing the ballot button opposite the symbol of the candidate of your choice on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM); You will hear a beep sound

Check the slip that appears in the transparent window of the VVPAT machine. The slip with the Candidate serial No., Name and Symbol shall be visible for 7 seconds before it drops in the sealed VVPAT box

You can press NOTA, None of the Above, if you don’t like any candidate; it’s the last button on the EVM

For more information, please check the Voter Guide

Mobile phones, cameras or any other gadget is not allowed inside a polling booth.

Parts of India voting today

Voting is taking place for 17 seats in Maharashtra, 13 each in Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, eight in West Bengal, six each in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, five in Bihar, and three in Jharkhand in this phase.

Star wars

Begusarai: Giriraj Singh vs Tanveer Ahmed vs Kanhaiya Kumar

Kendrapara: Baijayant Panda vs Anubhav Mohanty

Kannauj: Dimple Yadav vs Subrat Pathak

Farrukhabad: Salman Khurshid vs Mukesh Rajput vs Manoj Agarwal

Asansol: Babul Supriyo vs Moon Moon Sen

Ujiarpur: Upendra Kushwaha vs Nityanand Rai

Jodhpur: Vaibhav Gehlot (Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s son) vs Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Unnao: Sakshi Maharaj vs Annu Tandon vs Pooja Pal

Mumbai South: Milind Deora vs Arvind Sawant

Chhindwara: Nakul Nath (Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath’s son) vs Nathan Shah Kavreti

For all reports related to the Lok Sabha election 2019, please visit this page.

Subscribe to our newsletter

You will get all our latest news and articles via email when you subscribe

The email despatches will be non-commercial in nature
Disputes, if any, subject to jurisdiction in New Delhi

Leave a Reply

Latest news

Trump vows to fight Islamic terror with India at ‘Howdy, Modi!’

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Donald Trump greeted each other with warmth and exuded confidence in making the two democracies work towards attaining shared goals

सऊदी अरब — भारत की ऊर्जा सुरक्षा की ज़रूरत का ख़याल रखा जाएगा

सऊदी अरब के साथ भारत के संबंध पिछले कुछ वर्षों में कई अन्य क्षेत्रों में सहयोग के अलावा विशेषतः ऊर्जा संबंधों पर आधारित हैं

Babul Supriyo in JU: 5th FIR accuses guards of molestation

Even as Babul Supriyo assured Debanjan Ballav's mother that he would file no complaint against her son, the Sanskrit College student who had allegedly assaulted the Union minister lodged this complaint at the Jadavpur police station

Sena needs alliance desperately; BJP can do without it: Poll

This opinion poll found out also how the Congress and NCP would fare without an alliance; like the Shiv Sena, they will both regret it
- Advertisement -

‘China stole US intellectual property to emerge as military power’

This statement from US President Donald Trump comes in the wake of China increasing its military spending by 7% to $ 152 billion to deal with an increasing American presence in the disputed South China Sea region

Khattar will lead BJP to victory in Haryana: Opinion poll

In the ABP News/C voter survey, the opposition criticism of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar notwithstanding, he has been found to be the people's first choice for the post of chief minister. Khattar leads this race with 48% votes.

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: