3.9 C
New York
Sunday 5 December 2021

Buy now


HomeEntertainmentGovind Nihalani to be presented Baburao Painter Award

Govind Nihalani to be presented Baburao Painter Award

The veteran director, a pioneer of Indian parallel cinema once referred to as 'art films', will be honoured with the award for his contribution to the film industry


Kolhapur: Veteran filmmaker Govind Nihalani will be honoured with the Kalamaharshi Baburao Painter Award at the upcoming Kolhapur International Film Festival (KIFF), organisers said Monday.

The 7th edition of the film is scheduled to he held here from 7 to 14 February.

“KIFF has been organised this year from 7 to 14 February and Nihalani will be honoured with the Kalamaharshi Baburao Painter Award on the opening day of the festival,” Chandrakant Joshi, president, KIFF Organising Committee, said.

Nihalani, a pioneer of Indian parallel cinema, will be honoured with the award for his contribution to the film industry, he said.

Besides being a film producer and director, the 78-year-old is an acclaimed cinematographer and screenwriter.

The award is named after Painter, a native of Kolhapur who was a painter, sculptor and a filmmaker of the silent film era.

Govind Nihalani filmography

Aakrosh (1980) — Om Puri, Naseeruddin Shah, Smita Patil, Amrish Puri
Vijeta (1982) — Kunal Kapoor, Supriya Pathak, Shashi Kapoor, Rekha, Amrish Puri, Raja Bundela
Ardh Satya (1983) — Om Puri, Naseeruddin Shah, Smita Patil, Sadashiv Amrapurkar, Amrish Puri, Shafi Inamdar
Party (1984) — Rohini Hattangadi, Manohar Singh, Vijaya Metha, Om Puri, Naseeruddin Shah
Aghaat (1985) — Om Puri, Gopi, Naseeruddin Shah, Pankaj Kapoor
Tamas (1987) — TV serial based on a novel by Bhisham Sahni. Cinematography by VK Murthy
Drishti (1990) — Shekar Kapoor, Dimple Kapadia, Irfan Khan
Pita (1991)
Rukmavati Ki Haveli (1991)
Jazeere (TV series) (1991)
Drohkaal (1994) — Om Puri, Naseeruddin Shah, Mita Vashishta, Annu Kapoor, Ashish Vidyarthi
Sanshodhan (1996)
Kuruthipunal (Tamil) (1996) Remake of Drohkaal
Hazaar Chaurasi Ki Maa (1997) — Jaya Bachchan, Anupam Kher, Joy Sengupta, Nandita Sen, Seema Biswas, Milind Gunaji
Thakshak (1999) — Ajay Devgn, Rahul Bose, Tabu, Amrish Puri, Govind Namdeo, Nethra Raghuraman
Deham (2001) — Joy Sengupta, Kitu Gidwani, Surekha Sikri, Aly Khan
Dev (2004) — Amitabh Bachchan, Fardeen Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Om Puri, Rati Agnihotri
Kamlu Happy Happy — ( 3D Animated Feature Film ) Under Production
Ti ani Itar (2017) — Subodh Bhave, Sonali Kulkarni, Amruta Subhash, Priya Marathe, Bhushan Pradhan, Suman Patel

The event

Veteran actress Rohini Hattangadi will be the chief guest at the inaugural function, Joshi said.

Abhijit Deshpande, editor of Marathi films like Deool, Bucket List and Elizabeth Ekadashi, among others, will be presented the Chitramaharshi Anandrao Painter Award on the last day of the festival, he said.

More than 50 feature and short films, including those from Japan, South Korea, France and Iran, among others, will be screened at a well-known multiplex here as part of the KIFF this year, Joshi said.

Seven new Marathi films have been included in the “My Marathi” section of the eight-day festival, he said.

Screening of Gajendra Ahire’s film Dear Molly and movies like Welcome Home and Dithi, directed by Sumitra Bhave and Sunil Sukathanakar, will be among the main attraction for Marathi film lovers.

Country Focus will be on Hungarian cinema, said Dilip Bapat, organising secretary, KIFF.


Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Support pro-India journalism by donating

via UPI to surajit.dasgupta@icici or

via PayTM to 9650444033@paytm

via Phone Pe to 9650444033@ibl

via Google Pay to dasgupta.surajit@okicici

#SundayQuiz | On December 5, 1717, English pirate Edward Teach ransacked a merchant ship and kept her captain, Henry Bostock, prisoner. He became the inspiration for many fictional pirates. How better do we know this fearsome pirate?

एशेज सीरीज के पहले मैच में ऐसी होगी आस्ट्रेलिया की प्लेइंग इलेवन, कप्तान ने किया खुलासा

#Ashes2021 #AUSvENG #CricketAustralia


मोदी सरकार के दो उसूल
सफेद झूठ और आंखों में धूल

Golden Pendant Mangal Sutra with Earrings at Rs. 295 only https://tshirtbhaiya.com/products/golden-pendant-mangal-sutra-with-earrings

#IndvsNz 2nd Test LIVE: भारत ने दूसरी पारी की घोषित, न्यूजीलैंड के सामने है 540 रन का लक्ष्य

#Cricket #MumbaiTest


Read further:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -



%d bloggers like this: