1. Shatrughan Sinha, known for anti-Modi rants, has twice been MP from Patna Sahib

2. Rajiv Pratap Rudy will contest from Saran, Union Minister Giriraj Singh gets ticket from Begusarai instead of Nawada

3. The BJP is contesting 17 seats instead of 22, 5 more seats given to allies

Patna: The NDA announced on Saturday that 39 candidates of the coalition will contest the Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. An LJP candidate will be announced from Khagaria seat later on.

MP Shatrughan Sinha has failed to get a re-nomination from Patna Sahib as expected, thanks to his long record of being a rebel in the party. Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad will contest in his place.

On 17 March, Sirf News had reported Sinha would not be re-nominated by the BJP from Patna Sahib.

The BJP has nominated Union minister Giriraj Singh has from Begusarai instead of his favourite seat of Nawada.

The BJP, which won 22 seats in 2014, is contesting 17 seats this time. Due to the alliance, the five seats won by Satish Chandra Dubey, Birendra Kumar Chaudhary, Janak Ram, Om Prakash Yadav and Hari Manjhi have gone into the allies’ kitties.

Bihar NDA candidates list
Bihar NDA candidates’ list

BJP’s Bhola Singh had won from Begusarai in 2014. The Nawada seat has gone to BJP’s ally LJP.

In addition to the 16 seats it had won the last time, the BJP is contesting from Araria. This seat was won by Taslimuddin of the RJD in 2014. After his death, his son won the by-election for this seat.

Hukumdev Narayan Yadav’s son Ashok Yadav has been given the BJP ticket from Madhubani. Ashok Yadav is a former MLA.

Gopalji Thakur has been given the ticket from Darbhanga in place of Kirti Azad, who left the BJP leaving the BJP.