Wednesday 20 October 2021
- Advertisement -
HomeEntertainmentEmmy Awards 2021 recipients: The Crown steals spotlight

Emmy Awards 2021 recipients: The Crown steals spotlight

The 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards honoured the best in US prime time television programming from 1 June 2020, until 31 May 2021


The Emmy Awards 2021, held at the Deck at Los Angeles Live on 19 September night, saw guests turning up in glam attire as the event was made in-person as compared to the virtual ceremony last year. Due to the pandemic, it was turned into an indoor-outdoor event.

The Emmy Awards 2021 was hosted by Cedric the Entertainer. Besides, it was broadcasted live on CBS and Paramount+.

Netflix’s The Crown, which went in with 11 nominations, was the showstopper of the gala night, as it bagged seven trophies. The drama revolving around the reign of Queen Elizabeth II won in the categories of the best writing, direction, Outstanding Drama Series and four for acting. Olivia Colman won Best Actress and Josh O’ Connor won Best Actor for the Netflix series.

TV+ show Ted Lasso marked its place with 13 nominations out of which it won 4 trophies. It included 3 acting awards and 1 Outstanding Comedy Series.

Winners of 73rd Emmy Awards: Full List here

Outstanding Drama Series: The Crown

Outstanding Comedy Series: Ted Lasso

Outstanding Limited Series: The Queen’s Gambit

Outstanding Actor In Comedy: Jason Sudeikis – Ted Lasso

Outstanding Actress In Comedy: Jean Smart – Hacks

Outstanding Actor In Drama: Josh O’Connor – The Crown

Outstanding Actress In Drama: Olivia Colman – The Crown

Outstanding Actor In Limited Series or Movie: Ewan McGregor – Halston

Outstanding Actress In Limited Series or Movie: Kate Winslet – Mare of Easttown

Outstanding Supporting Actor In Drama: Tobias Menzies – The Crown

Outstanding Supporting Actress In Drama: Gillian Anderson – The Crown

Outstanding Supporting Actor In Comedy: Brett Goldstein – Ted Lasso

Outstanding Supporting Actress In Comedy: Hannah Waddingham – Ted Lasso

Outstanding Supporting Actor In Limited Series or Movie: Evan Peters – Mare of Easttown

Outstanding Supporting Actress In Limited Series or Movie: Julianne Nicholson – Mare of Easttown

Outstanding Director In Comedy: Lucia Aniello – Hacks

Outstanding Writing In Comedy: Lucia Aniello, Paul W Downs and Jen Statsky – Hacks

Outstanding Director In Drama: Jessica Hobbs – The Crown

Outstanding Writing In Drama: Peter Morgan – The Crown

Outstanding Director In Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special: Scott Frank – The Queen’s Gambit

Outstanding Writing In Limited Series, Movie Or Dramatic Special: Michaela Coel – I May Destroy You

Outstanding Variety Talk Show: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -