EC announces schedule for 7-phase 17th Lok Sabha election

In this election, 99.36% of voters are equipped with photo voter ID cards; 900 million voters in all will exercise their franchise

New Delhi: The first phase for the 17th Lok Sabha election will be held on 11 April. The second phase will be concluded on 18 April; the third phase on 23 April, the fourth on 29 April, the fifth phase on 6 May, the sixth on 12 May and the last phase on 19 May — the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora informed the media on Sunday.

The counting of votes will be done on 23 May, the CEC said.

The seven-phase general election will entail the following constituencies and States respectively.

No. of constituenciesNo. of States where the seats are located

In the first phase, the first date of nomination will be 18 March and the last date will be 25 March.

The Lok Sabha elections will be conducted in 7 phases. The first phase will be held on 11 April, the CEC said.

The model code of conduct for the Lok Sabha elections will be implemented with the dates announced.

Strict action will be taken against those who violate the code of conduct, Arora assured.

The Election Commission has found that 99.36% of voters have photo voter ID cards while 90 million voters in all will use their franchise in this election.


Leave a Reply

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Muslims Are Threatening Hindus With Impunity: Here’s Why

Why are Hindus considered kafirs by Muslims and heathens and pagans by Christians? Why do they sit in judgment on our culture and practices?

Trump Not Telling The Truth About India-US Trade

A protectionist US President Donald Trump raises even such issues that have been resolved; thankfully, the India does not buy his antics

Sonbhadra Gold To Benefit Indian Economy In 5 Ways

Although we are not in the era of the gold standard, the enormous deposit of the yellow metal in Sonbhadra will improve the Indian economy

Hindu They All Claim To Be; Policy Tells Who Really Is

BJP will not merely claim to be Hindu; it will bring CAA, NRC; let debutant, me-too Hindu parties beat it with UCC & population control bill

Tapas Pal, A Death No One Would Genuinely Condole

In 1980, after Bengali film superstar Uttam Kumar died, Dadar Kirti of Tarun Majumdar was released after Durga Puja. The voice...

More from the author

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: