Thursday 26 May 2022
- Advertisement -

Dhami to continue as Uttarakhand CM despite personal electoral loss

BJP sources said the party in Uttarakhand having had three leaders in the last term would have suffered instability if the incumbent chief minister had been changed again

Join Sirf News on


Uttarakhand’s caretaker Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami continue to hold the office despite his loss in the recently held state election. The decision was taken at the BJP Legislature Party held at the state headquarters this evening.

This is the first time in the 21-year-old Uttarakhand that a leader is being made the chief minister again despite his personal loss in the assembly election. Following the decision, Dhami, who was again elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party, reached the Raj Bhavan and presented the claim to form the government before the governor.

Dhami was MLA from Khatima of District Udham Singh Nagar in the third and fourth assemblies, but he lost the seat to Bhuvan Kapri of the INC. The BJP had already announced that Dhami would be made the chief minister if the party were to be voted to power.

The BJP, whose sources said that Dhami was retained because the two previous changes in the had rendered the state organisation somewhat unstable, had faced the assembly election under his leadership. Dhami had a mere six months as chief minister before the model code of conduct came into force.

Sources in the BJP said Dhami had proved his leadership credential by leading the BJP to victory in the Uttarakhand election for the second time in a row, beating five years of anti-incumbency.

This is the first time also for a party to get an opportunity to form the government for the second time in a row in Uttarakhand.

Dhami is the youngest ever chief minister of Uttarakhand who had become the 11th occupant of the state CMO on 4 July 2021, replacing who had earlier replaced Trivendra Singh Rawat.

The legislative party held at BJP state headquarters reached their decision unanimously at 5 PM today. BJP’s MLAs and other leaders had started gathering at noon for the meeting.

But BJP supporters had no clear idea who would be chosen as the 12th chief minister of Uttarakhand. Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Minister of State for External Affairs Meenakshi Lekhi were present at the legislature party as central observers.

Union Minister Pralhad Joshi, in charge of BJP’s in Uttarakhand, Union Minister of State for Defence Ajay Bhatt, former Union Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Ajay Tamta, Maharani Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah, Tirath Singh Rawat, Rajya Sabha member and BJP’s national media head Anil Baluni and Rajya Sabha member Naresh Bansal were present on the occasion.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: