Monday 24 January 2022
- Advertisement -

Delhi records 61% voting; exit polls predict AAP victory

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari rubbished the exit polls, claiming that the BJP would win at least 48 seats in this assembly election

In the Delhi assembly election, 61.46% of the registered voters exercised their franchise. This was less than the 67.47% vote percentage turnout in the 2015 election. According to the exit polls, the Aam Aadmi Party AAP seemed to be winning easily if the small sample size that psephologists use for the exit polls is overlooked.

Delhi’s Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh told reporters that the voting was peaceful. Over 60,000 security personnel, including the Rapid Action Force, were deployed in election duty. and paramilitary forces conducted flag marches in many sensitive areas.

Election officials said that till 6 PM, the vote percentage was 57.04% but then, after the people standing in queues had voted, the turnout count increased to 61.46%. This figure may get revised upward.

Three Muslim-dominated seats, Mustafabad, Matia Mahal and Seelampur recorded the highest turnout till 5 PM according to election officials.

According to the data given by the officials, till 5 PM, Mustafabad in north-east Delhi recorded 66.29% polling. There was 65.62 polling in Matia Mahal area of ​​ Delhi. Seelampur, which had witnessed riots in the name of protests against the amended citizenship law (CAA), recorded a 64.92% voter turnout.

There were long queues of voters before polling stations in all Muslim-dominated areas such as Zafarabad, Jamia Nagar, Turkman Gate, Shaheen Bagh and Seelampur. While protesting in turns against the CAA in Delhi’s Shaheen Bagh, women on Saturday went to the polling stations to vote in the assembly election to keep the squatting protest unaffected.

Delhi exit polls: All predictions say AAP winning

According to the exit poll of India Today-Axis, AAP may get 59-68 seats and BJP may get 2-11 seats. It said the AAP might have got 565 of the votes while the BJP got 35% respectively.

According to ABP News-C voters, AAP may get 49-63 seats and BJP may get 5-19 seats. This poll said that AAP’s vote percentage could be 50.4% and BJP’s 36%.

According to Times Now-IPSOS, AAP may get 47 seats and BJP 23 seats.

According to the exit poll of Republic TV-Jan ki Baat, AAP is likely to get 48-61 seats and BJP 9-21.

According to TV 9 Bharatvarsha-Cicero, AAP may get 52-64 seats and BJP 6-16 seats.

According to Neta-News X, the AAP may get 53-57 seats while the BJP may get 11-17.

In the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, the AAP had won a whopping 67 seats while the BJP had only three seats. The vote percentages of the two parties were 54.3% and 32.3% respectively.

BJP refuses to accept Delhi exit poll results

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari rubbished the exit polls, claiming that the BJP would win at least 48 seats in this assembly election. Tiwari tweeted that exit polls would “fail” and that the BJP would win 48 seats and form government in Delhi. He added a request: “Please do not find an excuse to accuse EVMs.”

After the end of voting, BJP president JP Nadda held a meeting with the leaders of the Delhi unit and reviewed the situation.

Meanwhile, Delhi’s Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia claimed that his party was going to win with a big margin.

VIP votes

President Ram Nath Kovind, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, INC President Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, West Delhi MP and State BJP president Manoj Tiwari voted.

Union Ministers and Hardeep Singh Puri exercised their franchise.

Chief Minister and national convenor of the AAP Arvind Kejriwal voted at the Rajpur Transport Authority polling station in the Civil Lines area. Kejriwal, who is contesting from the New Delhi seat, was accompanied by wife Sunita and son Pulkit. He took the blessings of his parents before going to vote.

Unusual stories

An election officer died of a attack before the polling began at the polling station in Babarpur. INC candidate Alka Lamba from Chandni Chowk had an argument with an AAP worker after which she slapped him while the took the man in custody apparently for provoking Lamba with abuses.

Nearly all post-poll surveys (exit polls) after the completion of voting have predicted a major victory of the AAP led by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. A few surveys have indicated that the party may repeat the 2015 record when it won 67 out of 70 assembly seats.

Get in Touch

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles


Get in Touch



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: