New Delhi: Cyclone Titli uprooted trees and electric poles and damaged hutments in Odisha’s Ganjam and Gajapati districts after making landfall early Thursday morning, but no loss of lives was reported from any part of the State, officials said.

The cyclone also triggered heavy rainfall in at least three districts and caused minor damage to power and communication.

Around three lakh people were evacuated in Odisha along the eastern coast as the very severe cyclonic storm Titli made a landfall Thursday morning, the Home Ministry said today.

Eight districts of Odisha — Ganjam, Khurdha, Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Gajapati Kendrapara, Bhadrak and Balasore — were hit by the very severe cyclonic storm that caused heavy to very heavy rainfall in large parts of the State, damaging thatched and asbestos houses and street lights.

The cyclone crossed the north Andhra Pradesh-south Odisha coast near Palasa in Srikakulam district to the southwest of Gopalpur with estimated maximum sustained surface wind speed of 140-150 kmph gusting to 165 kmph between 430 hours and 0530 hours, according to a statement issued by the Home Ministry.

Gopalpur recorded 126 kmph wind speed at 0430 hours and the wind speed is likely to gradually decrease due to the weakening of the cyclone, the statement said quoting a report by the Odisha government.

As many as 30 district emergency operation centres were asked to track and respond to the very severe cyclonic storm effectively, 300 power boats of special relief organisation were kept ready with the crew.

Around three lakh people were evacuated and 879 multi-purpose cyclone and flood shelters were kept in readiness for sheltering the rescued people, the statement said.

Altogether 1,112 relief camps were opened for sheltering the evacuees. A total of 105 pregnant women in Ganjam and 18 in Jgatsinghpur were shifted to hospitals, it said.

All schools and colleges will remain closed till Friday. Thirteen teams, comprising 45 personnel each, of the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) were deployed in the affected areas.

Several teams of the Odisha Disaster Response Force (ODRF) were deployed in nine districts — Ganjam, Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Khordha, Cuttack, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Boudh and Kalahandi, the statement said.

Fire services teams were asked to be on alert to respond at short notice of the district administration, it added.