Thursday 28 January 2021
- Advertisement -

Chouhan takes oath of MP CM for 4th time

He had become the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh for the first time on 29 November 2005; he then ascended the 'throne' on 12 December 2008 and again on 8 December 2013

- Advertisement -
Politics India Chouhan takes oath of MP CM for 4th time

After the political turmoil in Madhya Pradesh, a BJP government is going to be formed again in Madhya Pradesh. Former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan was elected the leader of the Madhya Pradesh BJP legislature party on Monday during a meeting held at the party office.

BJP’s Madhya Pradesh observer Arjun Singh and state in-charge Vinay Sahastrabuddhe attended the meeting via video conferencing from Delhi.

Raj Bhavan has issued a statement, according to which the time for the swearing-in of the chief minister is 9 PM of 23 March. Chouhan is all set to take oath as chief minister for the fourth time this evening.

The oath ceremony will be a show of simplicity due to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID) in India.

Preparations for the oath within the Raj Bhavan are almost complete. A mini cabinet will be sworn in too.

Not many will take part in this oath event — keeping in view the union government’s appeal to avoid crowding to minimise the spread of COVID.

Chouhan did not have to wait for long

After the resignation of 22 MLAs of the Indian National Congress (INC), the Kamal Nath dispensation became a minority government. Kamal Nath had to resign as chief minister. All these MLAs belong to the camp of Jyotiraditya Scindia, a leader with a considerable following in parts of Madhya Pradesh, who quit the INC and joined the BJP.

With the resignation of the rebel MLAs of the INC, the number of MLAs of that party came down to 92. The BJP has a total of 107 MLAs.

A total of 24 seats are vacant after the rebel legislators resigned in the 230-member strong assembly. BJP currently has the number of MLAs required for a majority. Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party MLAs have pledged outside support to the about-to-be-formed Chouhan government.

Chouhan had first become the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh on 29 November 2005. He then ascended the ‘throne’ for the second time on 12 December 2008. On 8 December 2013, Chouhan was sworn in as chief minister for the third time.

22 MLAs join BJP

All 22 rebel MLAs of Madhya Pradesh Congress met with BJP national president JP Nadda in the presence of Jyotiraditya Scindia who had joined the party earlier this month.

It was due to the resignation of these rebel MLAs that the Kamal Nath government in Madhya Pradesh fell last Friday.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: