Friday 27 May 2022
- Advertisement -

BJP wins Hamirpur, Badharghat; Congress gets Dantewada; LDF bags Pala

The results have gone in favour of the parties ruling the respective states

The counting for the by-election in Hamirpur in Uttar Pradesh, Dantewada in Chhattisgarh, Pala in Kerala and Badharghat in Tripura were held on Friday, throwing up results in favour of the parties ruling in the respective states. By-election was necessitated in three of the seats due to deaths of the incumbents while the fourth seat had fallen vacant due to the conviction of the sitting MLA.

The Assembly seat saw a 51% voter turnout on 23 September. The Maoist-infested Dantewada Assembly seat in Chhattisgarh witnessed polling by 60.1% of the electorate.

Yuvraj Singh has won the Assembly seat. He defeated his closest rival Samajwadi Party Manoj Prajapati by 17,000 votes. Singh was found the winner only after completion of the 24-phase counting on Hamirpur seat.

The LDF won the Pala assembly seat in Kerala. Its candidate Mani Kappan won by 2,943 votes a constituency believed to be a bastion of the Congress. LDF got 54,137 votes, 51,194 and NDA 18,044 votes for this seat.

Devi Karma of Congress wrested Dantewada of Chhattisgarh while BJP’s Mini Majumdar won in Tripura’s Badharghat seat.

In Hamirpur, nine candidates including BJP’s Yuvraj Singh, BSP’s Naushad Ali, SP’s Prajapati and Congress’s Har Deepak Nishad had been fielded. In this by-election, no major leader of the opposition parties campaigned while Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath himself campaigned in support of candidate Yuvraj Singh!

This seat had gone vacant after the termination of membership of MLA Ashok Singh Chandel who was sentenced to life imprisonment by the high court in a murder case. This is the first time since 2014 that all the major parties were in the field on their own.

There were 13 candidates in the by-election in the Pala Assembly constituency of Kerala. The by-election was held here due to the death of former Kerala Congress (M) leader and Finance Minister KM Mani.

Tripura’s Badharghat seat fell vacant due to the death of MLA Dilip Sarkar. The by-election in Dantewada followed the murder of BJP legislator Bhima Mandavi by Maoists while he was campaigning for his party candidate in the district during parliamentary polls in April this year.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: