Monday 17 January 2022
- Advertisement -

Bumrah as ODI vice-captain warning to Pant, Iyer

Hardly anyone had expected that India pacer Jasprit Bumrah would be appointed as the vice-captain of the right team just for the sake of improvisation, but it is now clear that the selectors have rewarded the for his consistent performance in all three formats. The Chetan Sharma-led selection committee has appointed Bumrah as the vice-captain of the ODI team for the bilateral series against South Africa, bypassing the tried-and-tested Indian Premier League (IPL) ‘heroes’ Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer.

If sources close to the selection committee are to be believed, the appointment of Bumrah as vice-captain is a clear message to Pant and Iyer that they will have to show consistency across formats. Bumrah has been consistently performing well since making his international debut in 2016.

“The arrangement is for one series as Rohit (out due to injury) is set to return for the series against West Indies and Sri Lanka and then Rahul will take over as the vice-captain,” a BCCI source said on the condition of anonymity.

“However, the selectors wanted to reward Jassi (Bumrah) for his consistent performance and good cricketing mind. So he was given priority over Pant and Iyer,” he said.

Former chairman of the selection committee MSK Prasad said that he has been made the vice-captain for only one series, so it was an easy decision for the selectors. Prasad said, “Bumrah is very intelligent and works very intelligently. So why not give him respect? I like this decision. If a is doing well in all formats, why not make him the captain?”

With ruled out of the three-match One-Day International series in South Africa, KL Rahul has been appointed as the captain of the 18-member squad announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India on 31 December.

Sharma, who is recovering from a hamstring injury, was ruled out of the ongoing Test series and is still undergoing rehabilitation. Pacer Bumrah has been appointed as Rahul’s deputy.

India squad: KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

Get in Touch

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles


Get in Touch



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: