New Delhi: While the BJP is leading in Palghar, NCP has taken lead in Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra, early leads show. But in Kairana, the united opposition has pulled ahead.
Polling in the two parliamentary seats on Monday was marred by complaints of faulty EVMs or electronic vote machines at many booths.
Repolling was held in 73 polling stations of Kairana and 49 booths in Bhandara-Gondiya yesterday. Nearly 20% of VVPAT or Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail machines, which eject slips confirming voters’ choices, were replaced on both seats.
Polling was also held for 10 assembly seats in nine states, Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Jokihat (Bihar), Tharali (Uttarakhand), Gomia and Silli (Jharkhand), Maheshtala (West Bengal), Ampati (Meghalaya), Palus Kadegaon  (Maharashtra), Shahkot (Punjab) and Chengannur (Kerala).
SP is ahead of BJP in UP’s Noorpur. Congress is ahead of BJP and JDS in Karnataka’s RR Nagar. Congress is leading in Punjab’s Shahkot. The Left candidate is ahead in Kerala’s Chengannur. in Bengal’s Maheshtala TMC is ahead. In Jokihat the JDU candidate is ahead. In Gomia and Silli in Jharkhand, JMM candidates are head. Congress has already won Palus-Kadegaon (Maharashtra) unopposed.
Bypoll to Maharashtra’s Palghar Lok Sabha seat, which was held by the BJP, has further strained its ties with ally Shiv Sena after it fielded the late BJP lawmaker’s son. The only parliamentary seat in Nagaland, vacated by BJP ally who is now Chief Minister, also voted in Monday’s by-election.

The Kairana by-election, a seat BJP won in 2014, is seen as a testing ground for opposition unity ahead of the 2019 elections in a State that sends the maximum number of lawmakers to parliament. After sworn rivals Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BJP) came together to win bypolls to the BJP bastions of Gorakhpur and Phulpur earlier this year, the Congress and RLD have joined the bandwagon in Kairana.

The Kairana by-poll was necessitated following the death of BJP MP Hukum Singh in February. His daughter Mriganka Singh was pitted by the party against Rashtriya Lok Dal’s Tabassum Hasan (BSP MP from Kairana in 2009) who is also supported by the Congress, the Samajwadi Party and also claims the support of the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Similarly, the bye-election to Noorpur Assembly seat was necessitated due to the death of BJP MLA Lokendra Singh Chauhan in a road accident in February.

While BJP reposed faith in Avani Singh, wife of late MLA Lokendra Chauhan, as its candidate, the SP fielded Naeemul Hasan as its nominee.

After the defeat of the BJP in Gorakhpur and Phoolpur Lok Sabha bypolls, opposition parties are upbeat aiming to consolidate anti-BJP votes, whereas the ruling BJP has made extra efforts to retain both the seats in order to send a message to voters, party cadres — as well as opposition parties — that the recent reversals are a closed chapter now, and that it was still strong in western UP.