Saturday 16 January 2021
- Advertisement -

BJP, Sena announce Maharashtra poll candidates before agreeing on seat-sharing formula

There are a total of 288 seats in the Maharashtra Assembly for which the BJP has announced 150 of its candidates while Sena has announced 70; there are RSP, RPI (Athawale), Shiv Sangram and Rayat Kranti Party in this NDA alliance, too

- Advertisement -
India Elections BJP, Sena announce Maharashtra poll candidates before agreeing on seat-sharing formula

The BJP and Shiv Sena today released their respective lists for most Maharashtra Assembly constituencies before a formal announcement of seat-sharing between them. The BJP announced 125 of its candidates for the seat-sharing battle. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will contest from the Nagpur South-West Assembly seat.

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena has made a demand of 124 candidates from its partner while announcing the names of 70 Sena candidates. BJP released its list first. There is uncertainty over what the alliance formula will be. There are a total of 288 seats in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

BJP retains 52 sitting MLAs in Maharashtra

Releasing the first list at the BJP headquarters in Delhi, the party’s national general secretary Arun Singh said, “BJP, Shiv Sena and four allies RSP, RPI (Athawale), Shiv Sangram and Rayat Kranti Party will jointly contest. The coalition is all set to remain in government with a three-fourth majority. The candidates of 125 Assembly constituencies have been decided. We are releasing its list. The candidates of 12 Assembly seats have been changed. We have given tickets to 52 sitting MLAs. This includes 12 women.”

The most significant politicians who have not yet found their names in the list is Minister Vinod Tawde, former Ministers Eknath Khadse and Prakash Mehta.

Votes will be cast for the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly on 21 October. The results will be announced on 24 October. The respective dates are the same for Haryana.

Significant BJP candidates for Maharashtra poll

During the press conference, BJP leader Arun Singh said, “The illustrious Chief Minister of Maharashtra, who has led with all-round development in Maharashtra, Devendra Fadnavis will contest from Nagpur South-West. BJP state president Chandrakant Dada Patil will contest from Kothrud Assembly.”

Shivendra Singh Bhonsle, a descendant of Chhatrapati Shivaji, will contest from Satara Assembly. Mukta Tilak, from Lokmanya Tilak’s family, will be the BJP candidate from Peth Assembly.

Pankaja Munde once again got a ticket from the Parli seat. Atul Bhonsle, president of Pandharpur Vitthal Temple Devasthan, will contest from Karad South. Udayan Raje Bhonsle, a descendant of Shivaji, has been given a ticket in the Satara Lok Sabha by-election. Former leader of opposition Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil has been made a candidate from Shirdi.

2014 election affidavit haunts Fadnavis

Meanwhile, the Maharashtra chief minister received a major setback from the Supreme Court just before the Assembly election in the state. The court has approved his prosecution for allegedly providing false information about him in a 2014 election affidavit. On 23 July, the apex court had reserved its judgment on the case.

Fadnavis is alleged to have withheld information about two criminal cases against him in the affidavit submitted during the 2014 assembly election. He got relief from the trial court and Bombay High Court, but the Supreme Court bench of CJI Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Deepak Gupta and Anirudh Bose quashed the clean chit from the lower courts. Fadnavis had mentioned only such cases in his affidavit where the lower court had framed charges.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: