23 C
New Delhi
Friday 6 December 2019
India BJP releases first list of 70 candidates for Gujarat...

BJP releases first list of 70 candidates for Gujarat polls

Delhi: The BJP today released its first list of 70 candidates for next month’s Gujarat Assembly elections, which includes Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel and state party chief Jitu Vaghani.

Of the 70 candidates, 18 are Patels, 16 OBCs, three SCs and 11 STs, party sources said.

Elections for the 182-member Gujarat Assembly will be held over two phases on December 9 and 14.

The list of candidates was finalised by the BJP’s Central Election Committee, which met in Delhi on Wednesday.

The meeting, chaired by BJP president Amit Shah, was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj.

While the list retains 49 sitting MLAs, three legislators have been dropped. The party has accommodated five former Congress legislators, who had switched over to the BJP earlier this year, in its first list.

Rupani will seek re-election from Rajkot West, Patel from Mehsana and Vaghani from Bhavnagar (West).

Apart from Rupani and Patel, 15 of 25 ministers have also made it to the list.

Former IPS officer P C Baranda, who resigned this week from the police service, has been given the ticket for Bhiloda (ST) seat.

The party has also fielded 16 OBC candidates.

The OBCs had launched a counter agitation in the state against inclusion of Patels in the OBC category.

A Patel community outfit led by Hardik Patel has been vociferously demanding reservation for Patidar community.

Hardik Patel has made overtures to the Congress after taking an aggressive stand against the ruling BJP.

The five former Congress MLAs, who secured a BJP ticket, are Raghavji Patel in Jamangar (rural), Dharmendrasinh Jadeja from Jamangar (north), C K Raulji from Godhra, Mansinh Chauhan from Balasinor and Ramsinh Parmar from Thasra.

They had cross voted against Congress heavyweight Ahmed Patel in a keenly fought Rajya Sabha election a few months back, and joined the BJP later.

However, Bholabhai Gohel, another former Congress MLA who joined the BJP after cross-voting in the upper house election, failed to make it to the ruling party list.

Instead, the party has given a ticket to its own nominee Bharatbhai Boghra in Jasdan, which was won by Gohel in 2012.

The party dropped three of its sitting MLAs while changed the seat of one.

The sitting MLAs, who failed to get renominated, are Bhavna Makwana from Mahuva, Varsha Doshi of Vadhvan and Nalin Kotadia from Dhari.

Bavku Undhad, sitting MLA from Lathi, has been moved to Amreli.

The party has fielded its former Amreli MP Dilip Sanghani from Dhari assembly seat.

“According to the list declared by our Central BJP, our 49 sitting MLAs have been given tickets, while one independent candidate who had won in 2012, has also been fielded,” Nitin Patel said.

“Our list has four women candidates. It tries to give proper representation to all castes and communities of the state,” Patel said.

He added that the second list of candidates will be declared soon.

The elections have become a prestige battle for the BJP, which has been in power for over two decades in the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah.

Political activity in the state has already gained momentum with Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi and top BJP leaders hitting campaign trail.


Subscribe to our newsletter

You will get all our latest news and articles via email when you subscribe

The email despatches will be non-commercial in nature
Disputes, if any, subject to jurisdiction in New Delhi

Leave a Reply


Trump Drives Democrats And Media Crazy

America can never be the same again, even after Trump leaves the White House,” say many, and you can read that anywhere

Balasaheb Thackeray’s Legacy Up For Grabs

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena has failed to live up to the ideals of Balasaheb, leaving a void that the BJP alone can fill

How BJP Pulled Off Maha Coup With Nobody Watching

As Devendra Fadnavis desisted from contradicting Uddhav Thackeray everyday, the media attention moved from the BJP to its noisy rivals

Anil Ambani: From Status Of Tycoon To Insolvency

Study the career of Anil Ambani, and you will get a classic case of decisions you ought not take as a businessman and time you better utilise

तवलीन सिंह, यह कैसा स्वाभिमान?

‘जिस मोदी सरकार का पांच साल सपोर्ट किया उसी ने मेरे बेटे को देश निकाला दे दिया,’ तवलीन सिंह ने लिखा। क्या आपने किसी क़ीमत के बदले समर्थन किया?
- Advertisement -


Nirav declared 2nd fugitive economic offender

Nirav Modi, fighting his extradition case in England, was further remanded, unable to convince the court he wouldn't intimidate witnesses

RBI policy rates intact; SBI disapproves status quo

The 6-member MPC headed by the RBI governor unanimously decided to maintain the repo rate at 5.15% and the reverse repo rate at 4.90%

Parliament canteen to stop offering subsidised food

The Narendra Modi government had been reducing the subsidy for food at the Parliament canteen gradually since 2016; it will now be eliminated

Burnt body found again: Bengal after Telangana, Bihar, UP

Bengal Police confirmed that the woman was burnt and killed on 4 December in Malda while they could confirm rape after the autopsy report

Citizenship, Dabholkar, Bhima-Koregaon divide Maha govt

The INC not only disagrees with the Shiv Sena on the Citizenship Amendment Bill but also questions the NCP for the Bhima-Koregaon riots

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar